Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Love it! I mixed olive oil, garlic powder, pepper and brushed them on both sides whole. I stacked them and then cut them into triangles. I put them on a cookie sheet and sprinkled them with grated parm and baked them for 5 minutes and then flipped them and baked for another 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a FABULOUS recipe ! And easy to boot. I did take the suggestions of a couple of the reviewers and split the pita to get a thinner 'chip' and another reviewers suggestion to use olive oil cooking spray then sprinkle on the herbs and salt. I ran out of garlic salt (discovering it 3 minutes after coming home from getting the pita bread) so improvised and made my own with garlic powder and grey sea salt, 25% salt 75% garlic powder. No chervil ? Another clever reviewer said to use 1/2 parsley 1/2 tarragon !! I'll never buy the greasy bagged pita chips again, not to mention I used whole wheat pita, so my 'is-it-good-for-you' meter was in the 'YES-it-is zone'. Thank you so much for posting this Dawn !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Yorkville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Coxsackie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I've brought these to two parties and have had to share the recipe with everybody. Really good with thicker pita and slightly warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This recipe was easy to make. Since I like the Stacy's sea salt flavor pita chips, I opted to just use olive oil and sea salt...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made these to go with my jalepeno cilantro hummus. I didn't have chervil so I omitted the basil as well and used Italian seasoning I had. I cooked them for 12 minutes and they started to brown a bit but were crunchy. I've made these a few times now. Super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. (had to go buy the chervil) It's good. But I still prefer 2 changes. Split the pitas open, it makes for a crispy chip. Be sure to cut back on the cooking time! Also, I had a basting oil with spices already in the oil and my husband preferred it that way. (Wegmans Brand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I make this will almost every meal but I only make them a tiny bit crispy so they can be used in the meal with rice, sauce, chicken, pasta, anything! I also don't bother using the chervil, still so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was really easy. I used 5 pitas and cut them each into 8 triangles. I used a pizza cutter to cut them. I used fresh garlic, italian seasoning, sea salt, black pepper, and 1/2 cup olive oil. I followed the temp & time and baked on a clay bakers tray. They turned out great! I broiled them for a bit too just to brown them more. I would like to make these and freeze to take to the cottage. Has anyone tried freezing them for later?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
These were fairly easy to make, and came out delicious. I used a bit more oil than it suggests, and created a spice mixture including minced garlic and white pepper. I suggest baking them at the back of the oven, and rotating them once in a while so that they cook evenly. Mine were a TAD soft and chewy in the very middle, but only some. That was my fault. Otherwise, as I said, delicious pita chips. My middle eastern family approves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I wanted some pita chips while at the store and a bag of stacy's pita chips were 6.69. Really? So I bought a bag of pita bread for 69 cents. I made this exactly as stated and was a thousand time happier. I saved six bucks and these were really great warm out of the oven. I can't believe I actually had Chervil :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States