Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
This was a great recipe. I did make some modifications. I ommited the chevril. I also used closer to a cup and a half of olive oil. I used wheat pita pockets, and they just really soaked up the olive oil. I baked for 5 minutes and they came out perfect! **Update** I made these again, and I used less olive oil because instead of cutting the pita pockets into triangles and then brushing them with the olive oil mixture, I only cut them in half, and then I brushed them. After each was covered I cut into triangles. This was SOOO much easier and less time consuming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
762 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
The recipe never said exactly HOW to cut the pita into 8 pieces and, to me, this made all the difference. First, I cut it like a pie with 8 pieces (leaving the two layers of pita). I had to bake for 15 minutes (flipping the pitas once) to get a crispy effect. The next time, I cut it lengthwise and then into 4 thin pieces (yielding a total of 8) and cooked for 7 minutes. Each came out well, but I guess it's a matter of preference. The first way, chips are thicker, the second way, they are thinner and crispier. Also, I found it easier to sprinkle the herb mixture. When I dipped the pitas in the oil, some pieces had a lot more seasoning than others. Still, they were a great hit and tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Unbelievably good and tasty. I split the pitas in half and then cut into 8 pieces. I baked all the "thin" halves in one batch and all the "thick" halves in one batch. I omitted olive oil and just sprayed wedges with olive oil cooking spray. I combined the spices as stated in the recipe in a small bowl and sprinkled these on and then one more quick spray to make sure everything stayed put. My guests loved them and they disappeard quickly. My kids thought they were better than potato chips...what a healthy, fat-free snack for them. Thanks for sharing. We will be making these often in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
304 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
These are fantastic! Or, I should say they were, as my guests devoured them as quickly as I could take them out of the oven, and asked that I make another batch later that same night. I didn't use the chevril, and added a little parmesean cheese sprinkled on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Lewis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Living In: Sanford, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Yum! I used homemade whole wheat pitas (from this site), sprayed them with canola oil cooking spray, and sprinkled on the spices (rather than measuring). Then I sprayed them again to help the spices stick. Dip in homemade hummus - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
What a great recipe! We made these to go with a jalapeno jelly/cream cheese spread for Christmas. Didn't have chervil- but found that the substitute is 1/2 parsley & 1/2 tarragon; so use 1/2 tsp. of parsley and 1/2 tsp. tarragon. So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
These were fantastic! I didn't expect much flavor out of so few ingredients, but everything really just works. I didn't have chervil, so I substituted dried parsley. The only reason this recipe isn't getting five stars is that they don't keep well overnight. Even sealed in a ziplock bag, they got very tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULESMICHY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2002
Easy to make. I had to lower the temp for my oven; so, the first time you make them, be sure to watch them so you can make any adjustments to prevent overcooking. I used olive oil spray on mine and sprinkled them with Jane's Crazy Mixed-Up salt because that's what I had on hand. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
Made these to go with spinach dip. Excellent. I ommitted the chervil. My duaghter asks me to make them all the time. She like them better than potato chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2002
These are so good I ate them plain after I ate all the hummus (hummusIII recipe). I used whole wheat pitas. I'm serious..these are super delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States