Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I can't always find chervil, and use dried parsley instead. These are great with everything, but they are my go-to accompaniment to the hot spinach and artichoke dip recipe on this site. The only modification I make is that I always use fresh minced garlic (lots) and add a dash of salt instead of using garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We tried several pita chip recipes before we found this recipe - we stopped looking. This is a great recipe - great taste and easy to make - better than anything bought from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I really liked the texture of these - I halved each pita to make each chip one layer and cut each half into eight wedges. I used multi-grain pitas. I misted them with olive oil and used garlic salted, red/black/green peppercorns, and Crazy Jane's Mxed-up Salt. I put them in the toaster over 6-7 and flipped them over. I gave them another spritz or olive oil and seasonings and put them back in another 4-5 minutes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
These were fantastic, cut them thin and you will get that wonderful crunch. The seaonings can easily be changed for more variety, but this combination is outstanding and would go well with hummus. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Too much spiced to use for a dipping tool, as the spices on the chips were all we could taste. Used olive oil PAM spray in place of olive oil, and sprayed the pan and then the bread. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
My daughter makes Pita chips similar to this, but she sprays each chip with cooking spray and then sprinkles them with Greek seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I have recently started making my own pita chips cause I am hooked on Hummus and don't want to spend the money on store bought pita chips. I found the easiest way to do this is to put the whole pita bread on a cookie sheet and brush a small amt. of olive oil on it and then sprinkle with what ever you want..garlic..basil. salt pepper. Then with scissors cut the pita in half and cut each half into 8 thin rectangles. Bake in a 375 oven for about 10 min. but watch so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Excellent. I made a few changes to make them a bit easier and crisper. First, separate the layers of the pita's so you get two thinner pieces instead on one thick one. Using a pastry brush, brush on the oil before you cut, makes it much easier! Using a sharp knife or pizza cutter, cut into wedges, then sprinkle with the herbs and seasonings of your choice. You can use those mentioned in the original recipe, or add your own to customize your pita chips to your liking. There is no wrong here. You can even use melted butter (in place of the oil) and cinnamon sugar to make some delicious sweet pita snacks instead of savory! Your imagination is your only limit with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Mine just didn't turn out all that great--I don't think I'd bother making them again. They were too thick and dry--the store bought ones taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
It took me about 3/4 cups of olive oil to cover every wedge on both sides. Instead of garlic salt, I only put garlic powder. The chips were lightly salted after 7 minutes in the oven. Then were baked until the surface turned golden brown. Bake thin and thick chips separately is a good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States