Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These were delicious! I left out the chevril, as I could not find it in the grocery store or in the multicultural supermarket. I brought them to a Super Bowl Party and they were gone in 15 minutes! I would definitely make these for a party when you don't have much time. I cut them like a pie, but had to flip them once...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Love black pepper and garlic salt so these are right up my alley. Didn't have any chervil so I skipped that otherwise made as written. Great for using up pita that's getting stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I made these pita chips for the Artichoke Spread recipe on this site. I would say this recipe is just average but I haven't looked around for a better one yet. I'll have to experiment, but it'll do in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
easy, fast, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassidy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
These were very good, but a little too salty for me. Next time, I'll either reduce the garlic salt or won't put the herbs/spices on both sides of the chip. I'll separate the pitas too, so they're not as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
After reading the other reviews, I made the following changes - used olive oil cooking spray, sprayed pita bread on both sides before I cut the triangles. I sprinkled the seasonings on the bread (both sides), and spritzed a little more olive oil spray. Then I cut and separated the triangles and baked as directed. Next time I will use garlic powder instead of garlic salt because the flavor stands on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were tasty! Easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
The chips were edible but didn't stand out. The recipe didn't mention exactly how to cut the pita pockets, so i made them two ways: 1. slit the pockets in half and then cut it into 8 wedges 2. Just cut it into 8 wedges. I felt the second option worked better, but it took a little more than 15 minutes at 400F and i turned it over once. Next time I will try increase flavor by adding some chilli powder to the recipe. Will have to work around this recipe a bit to make it more interesting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Excellent. I did a variation on these in that I used PAM Olive Oil Cooking Spray and it worked extremely well, gave it all that great olive oil flavour anyways. I didn't have chervil and I used regular table salt instead of garlic salt. 6 minutes was a perfect time. I'm so pleased with how delicious they are. And also to kick up the flavour a notch, I used olive oil pita pockets not just plain ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Fledgling Basement Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These are great. I keep it simple, whole wheat pitas sprayed with butter flavored Pam and sprinkled with sea salt. I cut the pita in half, slide a pizza cutter into the half and split the pita...I don't like thick pita chips. Always served with our fav hummus (Curried Hummus on allrecipes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States