Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
So good! I cut the pitas into 6 pieces (without splitting the two halves), which resulted in large, thick chips that were delicious! I just used olive oil, garlic salt, and Italian seasoning. Served with roasted garlic hummus. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Fabulous! I prefer keeping the thickness of the pita, so I don't separate the sides. This is so fast - just spread the rounds with the olive oil & spices, and then cut into 8 narrow wedges. 7 minutes in the oven was perfect, and they were ready to eat almost instantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Wonderful. I made them with a Moroccan Carrot Dip and they turned out well. The only change I made was adding rosemary in for the chervil; that's why I withhold the last star. I don't know anyone who keeps chervil in their cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These turned out pretty good. I used whole wheat pitas. I brushed the front and back of the pitas with the oil mixture before I cut them into wedges. I found that the bake time was a little off. I ended up baking them for about 15 minutes. I then turned off the oven and slightly opened the oven door. I left the chips in the warm oven for about 10 minutes before serving. They turned out crisp and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
MUCH better than store-bought!! i keep it healthy by spraying the whole pita on both sides with olive oil spray, then sprinkle garlic powder, seasoned salt,ground black pepper and a pinch of cayenne (adds a nice spicy contrast to the usually mild hummus) on both sides before cutting into small bite-sized chips and baking until crisp (usually about 10 minutes at 400 degrees). just keep an eye on them 'cause they do burn easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very very tasty! I had to cook 4-5 minutes for mine so they wouldn't burn. And so easy to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
To JILLYBEAN14: use your pizza cutter, and cut the pitas pizza-wise into 8 wedges. Pitas are 2 layers; separate the layers and you have 16 chips to put in the oven. One side is thicker than the other, so either bake the thin ones and thick ones in their own batches (so the thin ones don't burn and the thick ones get crispy) or put the thick ones on the outside edge and crowd the thin ones in the middle (a good way to do a smaller batch, but watch them carefully). I like whole wheat pitas, but any way you like them they're good with dips & spreads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I guessed on the spices. I stored the chips in one of those veggie fresh ziplocs and they were still crispy the next day, but they did seem kind of stale. Definitely at their best right out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These were delicious! I left out the chevril, as I could not find it in the grocery store or in the multicultural supermarket. I brought them to a Super Bowl Party and they were gone in 15 minutes! I would definitely make these for a party when you don't have much time. I cut them like a pie, but had to flip them once...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Love black pepper and garlic salt so these are right up my alley. Didn't have any chervil so I skipped that otherwise made as written. Great for using up pita that's getting stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States