Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
So easy, and so great! I throw some in the oven while cooking to have as an appetizer. It goes great with the Artichoke & Spinach Dip Restaurant Style recipe on AllRecipes, or even the triangles of Laughing Cow cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Really good and really easy! I omitted the chevil because I didn't have any. Mine took exactly 7 minutes to cook. Great for dips or to dip into soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Used this as a base recipe for cinnamon sugar pita chips. Used leftovers from homemade pita (Peppy's pita bread), double quartered pita bread, lightly covered with olive oil (about 2 tbsp for 2 pita), heavy on the cinnamon and sugar and a touch of salt. Baked at 350 for about 7 minutes. REsults: crunchy and slightly chewy sweet/salty bites. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
These pita chips are much better than the store bought pita chips, plus they're very easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. I served mine with homemade hummus and they were great together. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Finally, a great pita chip recipe. I used cooking spray instead of olive oil and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were very good-- I served them with the dill/feta/garlic cheese spread (the recipe was from this site, also) and they were a hit! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
These were very tasty. As others have noted, the recipe doesn't clarify if you cut the pita in half lengthwise, and then cut into 8 pieces. I cut the pita itself in half and then 4 pieces each half, so I had double-sided pita chips. As others said, you'll want to cook for 15 minutes, turning once, to get crispy chips. HOWEVER, I think I would have preferred the thinner chips. It's also a good idea to invest in an oil sprayer - if you brush too much of the mixture on the pita, it won't cook off, and any leftover chips will get mushy. I really loved these, though, I will make again! Next time I'll sprinkle with some Parmesan cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
thank you for the perfect delish recipe!! i ate them ALL :( hahaha! will use low calorie oil from now on :) and less oil as possible. i also made half of the chips with sprinkled on Parmesan with bells seasoning, basil, onion salt, and garlic; cut real small, cooked until almost overcooked.... wow! good... whole wheat kangaroo pitas (good for you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiGGoNZo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Fantastic! I lightly brushed some olive oil on the pita. (I used much less than 1/2 cup in total - but next time I will just spray the pita with PAM). I sprinkled it with zaatar seasoning and placed the pitas on the grill for 4 minutes per side. It was a great with our BBQ dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Quick, Easy and tasty. I added a little more garlic, onion power and used parsley instead of Chervil since that is what I had on hand. Will make these again. It was a great way to use up left over pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GuarinoMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States