Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very easy and very good. I find that these last best in a ziploc type bag. I also find that if you get them really crispy, they will last longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDREYPERRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Either the temperature is too high, or the cooking time too long because both of my batches were almost burnt. This resulted in minimal flavour. I used large pitas (not separated), olive oil and a Parmesan-herb blend. I think this would fair better baked at a lower temperature, and possibly cooked longer. Will try that with my next batch. These are also great with processed cheese spread, garlic butter, or cinnamon-sugar if you're looking for some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Very good pita chips. I made hummus to go with it, which created an ideal appetizer. I do reccomend that you use more olive oil. Make sure you serve it the same day you baked it or else they'll stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara-is-a-CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Very Good as a chip for dipping or on it's own. Larry approved and prepared Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
An easy and tasty recipe that is easy to modify with what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Deliciosity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! I have been on a pita chip and hummus kick lately (store bought) and decided to try and make my own. These pita chips are awesome!I didn't use the chervil and added a little parmesean cheese, but other than that stuck to the recipe. I used whole wheat pita's and seperated the pocket and then used a pizza cutter to make the triangles, it does take some time, but so worth it! Also, 7 minutes was perfect for me. It made a ton of chips, I have been paying almost $4 for a bag a 1/4 the size. My pita's were only $1.25 each so not only better than store bought, cheaper too (if you have everything else on hand)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Out of this world good! I made this for a dinner party and ended up giving the recipe out to everyone. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I did not use chervil; however, I used dried Italian seasoning, garlic powder instead of the garlic salt and sprinkled the triangles with parmesan cheese before baking - be careful of your oven temp and time and check what works best in your particular oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
These were very tasty. One review suggested burshing the oil mixture on before cutting and that made it very easy. I did have a lot of the oil mixture left over so either I need a lot more bread or a lot less oil. Other than that, they were de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States