Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Excellent! I paired this with the "Extra Easy Hummus" recipe from Donalyn with great results. I had no chervil, but used a smattering of Italian Seasoning (about 1/4 tso) and it worked very well. Pita chips and hummus at a FRACTION of the cost for store bought with all the flavor and zest- no competition. I will be doing this from now on. So long, $4 bag of Stacey's Pita Chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Oh my these are good! I will never buy pita chips again! I didn't have any chevril the first time I made them and they were still wonderful. I mixed all the seasonings together and put them in an empty spice bottle and just sprinkled them over the pita bread pieces after I had brushed the olive oil on them. When I took them out of the oven, I gave them just a little extra sprinkle of the seasonings and let them cool. They store great in a ziplock bag, but they don't really last long enough to say I stored them, we made them disappear pretty quickly! Thanks Dawn, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Very easy and very good. I find that these last best in a ziploc type bag. I also find that if you get them really crispy, they will last longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUDREYPERRY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Either the temperature is too high, or the cooking time too long because both of my batches were almost burnt. This resulted in minimal flavour. I used large pitas (not separated), olive oil and a Parmesan-herb blend. I think this would fair better baked at a lower temperature, and possibly cooked longer. Will try that with my next batch. These are also great with processed cheese spread, garlic butter, or cinnamon-sugar if you're looking for some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Very good pita chips. I made hummus to go with it, which created an ideal appetizer. I do reccomend that you use more olive oil. Make sure you serve it the same day you baked it or else they'll stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clara-is-a-CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Very Good as a chip for dipping or on it's own. Larry approved and prepared Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
An easy and tasty recipe that is easy to modify with what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Deliciosity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! I have been on a pita chip and hummus kick lately (store bought) and decided to try and make my own. These pita chips are awesome!I didn't use the chervil and added a little parmesean cheese, but other than that stuck to the recipe. I used whole wheat pita's and seperated the pocket and then used a pizza cutter to make the triangles, it does take some time, but so worth it! Also, 7 minutes was perfect for me. It made a ton of chips, I have been paying almost $4 for a bag a 1/4 the size. My pita's were only $1.25 each so not only better than store bought, cheaper too (if you have everything else on hand)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Out of this world good! I made this for a dinner party and ended up giving the recipe out to everyone. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Claus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fortville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States