Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I found this recipe a few years ago and just realized I never reviewed it. I love this recipe because it's so easy. I like my pita chips a bit crispier, so I leave them in a few minutes longer. I serve these with lentil or black bean soup or homemade hummus, and they never last more than a few days. I like that I can mix it up with different herbs pretty easily. I've used all sorts of herb mixes on these, and they're always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
WHOOPS!! I had 2 large baking sheets of chips in the oven and they burnt to a black crisp! I never do that! These need to be watched closely and 5 minutes is pleanty! Luckily we had tacos the night before and had some flour shells left over and they worked great! Very good with Buffalo Chicken dip from this sight. Making these again tonight to top off a taco salad for dinner. These are so easy the kids will make them next time. These will be a regular from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These chips were a hit!next time,I'd use a half portion of the ingredients.I didn't have Chervil so I used a half tsp of dried rosemary & parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Loved this with some cucumber sauce. I used flat bread, although I'm not 100% sure the difference, the recipe picture looks like flat bread not pita bread. I didn't have any chervil, but this came out great and I'll definately do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Instead of olive oil and the rest of the ingredients, I sprinkled over my pita chips with garlic oil and omitted the salt. It was yummy with the Pineapple Chicken Salad I made to go with it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Call this one 4.5. A winner on many fronts... simplicity, relatively-healthy alternative to other fried chips, fabulous taste result and great flexibility (I'm already conjuring up alternate flavor combos for these.) I made them "as written," (for a recent family dinner appetizer) just sans-chervil, as it is not a staple in my pantry. Served them with humus - delicious! Would also be a awesome with spinach and/or artichoke dip. Thanks for the recipe Dawn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
simple and YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe! I actually like thin chips, so I first cut each pita circle around the edge with scissors, and divide the circles into 2 rounds. I follow the balance of the directions, also adding some sesame seeds and change the spices as desired, depending what I am serving them with for the dip. I bake WHOLE rounds, and when baked, cool and then break into random pieces. These are always a hit with Baba Ghanoush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Delicious! I skipped the chervil and it was still amazing. My 8 year old now asks for these in her lunch box. Great simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Excellent chips! I made these last weekend for a Christmas party. Instead of cutting the pitas into wedges, I used metal cookie cutters & cut them into holiday shapes -- trees, holly leaves, snowmen, stars, bells, & gingerbread men. They were a BIG hit! I'd suggest leaving the salt out of the oil mixture, and instead sprinkling on a little kosher salt just before baking -- you'll get a more even and controlled coverage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States