Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
5* with the following changes: Only cut pitas in 1/2, then separate pocket halves. After halving, brush with olive oil before cutting into triangles. Can substitute chervil with 1/2 tsp. of parsley & 1/2 tsp. tarragon. Use coarse salt. If spices won't stick, use spray oil before sprinkling with remaining spices. One side is thinner then the other so cook thin ones in 1 batch & thick ones in another batch. Bake at 350 for 16 min., flipping after 7 to 8 min. to make crispy (not chewy) or they won't keep overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great basic recipe. I didn't use basil or chervil because I didn't think it would work well with the sausage dip I had, just garlic salt & pepper, and it turned out delicious. The great thing about this is once you add the olive oil you can put pretty much any seasoning you'd like and make it work. I'll definitely be playing with different seasonings and making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I liked these! I was looking for ways to use up some pita bread I had, and this was perfect. I don't have a brush, so I just drizzled the oil over the pita triangles, and then sprinkled the seasoning. (not the chervil, I don't have any). Thanks, Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were excellent! I am going to cut down on the salt portion a bit next time, maybe 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 1/2tsp garlic powder...but otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These are great! Per other reviewers' suggestions I cut my pita into 8 wedges, split, brushed each one with olive oil, then sprinkled with spice mixture. I also subbed parsley for chervil. Good with Smokey Chipotle Hummus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
DELICIOUS!!!! Everybody Loves them, I omitted basil and chervil, and used dried parsley and sprinkled with shredded parmesan cheese. Served them with hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indian Wells, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I have made a version of these e chips for a few years. I have always used butter instead of olive oil. I always slip them in half as well because I like my chips a little thinner. Also I just use garlic salt for a seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Really easy and very yummy! If you want your chips to be more crispy, just split the pita and then cut the triangles from those two pieces. Awesome with Hummus III recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amergin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This recipe is so fun! You're easily able to make all different kinds of pita chips, and they taste delicious :) The varieties I made were salted, onion and pepper, garlic herb, and parmesan. I left them in my oven for 7 minutes exactly and they came out perfectly. I'd love to serve these at a party with some hummus and toum. This recipe makes plenty of pita chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Caviar "Fish and Chips"

See how to make an elegant party appetizer that’s beyond easy.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States