Pita Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I have recently started making my own pita chips cause I am hooked on Hummus and don't want to spend the money on store bought pita chips. I found the easiest way to do this is to put the whole pita bread on a cookie sheet and brush a small amt. of olive oil on it and then sprinkle with what ever you want..garlic..basil. salt pepper. Then with scissors cut the pita in half and cut each half into 8 thin rectangles. Bake in a 375 oven for about 10 min. but watch so they don't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Excellent. I made a few changes to make them a bit easier and crisper. First, separate the layers of the pita's so you get two thinner pieces instead on one thick one. Using a pastry brush, brush on the oil before you cut, makes it much easier! Using a sharp knife or pizza cutter, cut into wedges, then sprinkle with the herbs and seasonings of your choice. You can use those mentioned in the original recipe, or add your own to customize your pita chips to your liking. There is no wrong here. You can even use melted butter (in place of the oil) and cinnamon sugar to make some delicious sweet pita snacks instead of savory! Your imagination is your only limit with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Mine just didn't turn out all that great--I don't think I'd bother making them again. They were too thick and dry--the store bought ones taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
It took me about 3/4 cups of olive oil to cover every wedge on both sides. Instead of garlic salt, I only put garlic powder. The chips were lightly salted after 7 minutes in the oven. Then were baked until the surface turned golden brown. Bake thin and thick chips separately is a good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Holy Moly! these chips were amazing! I used it for a spinach artichoke dip! Everything was right on point and just delicious! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
5* with the following changes: Only cut pitas in 1/2, then separate pocket halves. After halving, brush with olive oil before cutting into triangles. Can substitute chervil with 1/2 tsp. of parsley & 1/2 tsp. tarragon. Use coarse salt. If spices won't stick, use spray oil before sprinkling with remaining spices. One side is thinner then the other so cook thin ones in 1 batch & thick ones in another batch. Bake at 350 for 16 min., flipping after 7 to 8 min. to make crispy (not chewy) or they won't keep overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Great basic recipe. I didn't use basil or chervil because I didn't think it would work well with the sausage dip I had, just garlic salt & pepper, and it turned out delicious. The great thing about this is once you add the olive oil you can put pretty much any seasoning you'd like and make it work. I'll definitely be playing with different seasonings and making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I liked these! I was looking for ways to use up some pita bread I had, and this was perfect. I don't have a brush, so I just drizzled the oil over the pita triangles, and then sprinkled the seasoning. (not the chervil, I don't have any). Thanks, Dawn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
These were excellent! I am going to cut down on the salt portion a bit next time, maybe 1/2 tsp garlic salt and 1/2tsp garlic powder...but otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States