Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
I am laughing while I read all these reviews. You all figured it out. You need to use the pudding mix; not prepared, skip the bananas & drain the pineapple. My mother has made this for every Thanksgiving dinner I can remember. My aunt made the mistake of offering to make it about 6 years ago but when my mother gave her the recipe, she didn't tell her to skip the juice & just use the mix, don't make the pudding. To this day, my mother denies sabbotaging my aunt those years ago when she showed up with a green soupy mess. Thanks for the laugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Mine turned out perfectly. Apparently people can't read a recipe. No where in this recipe does it say to make the pudding first. It says to fold the pudding mix, which would be the mix right out of the pudding package, into the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
I must have done something wrong when I tried this recipe for Memorial Day. It came out like soup. I was expecting something light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I followed the recipe exactly. i wanted to make it for thanksgiving. It turned out like soup! it was so runny even after i refridgerated it overnite! Ive checked other recipes and they all use dry pudding mix and drain the pineapple. this was the only recipe i found that has you prepare the pudding first. needless to say i didnt serve it and wasted time and money!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe was AWESOME! The flavors and textures worked well. What I did was drained the pineapple juice from the fruit and only used 1 cup of the juice. I blended the pudding with the juice until thick ( almost right away) and then added just a wee bit more juice to the pudding and blended until thick but smooth. I also added 1/4 teaspoon Almond Extract to the pudding. Then adding the pineapple into the pudding I folded in the whipped topping. I completed this with the bananas and I used roasted diced up pistachios instead of walnuts. I will make this all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
I think the recipe needs a few adjustments: Make sure you stir the pudding in with the pineapples and their juice and let it thicken a little. Next, I used 2c mini marshmellows and omitted the banana. It came out the with a good frothy texture after letting it chill for several hours and was enjoyed by MOST members of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
DO NOT mix the pistachio pudding per the box directions. This will produce the soup like consistency described in some of the other reviews. Mix in the dry pudding mix only!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This recipe should read: DO NOT make according to pkg directions. You just mix the pudding with the cool whip! I've made this for years and it never comes out soupy if you do it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
I love this recipe, it is quick and easy. There is no cooking involved so even kids can do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salamanca, New York, USA
Living In: Elmira Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
I'm having a hard time wrapping my brain around WHY people made the pudding according to the package directions when the recipe never said that! I have been making this recipe for most of my adult life and it's always a hit. I will say that I've never seen a version with bananas in it and I omitted them. Also, do NOT add the juice! The pinapple contains just enough juice to make the salad creamy and allows it to hold it's shape and not become soupy. I not only drain the pineapple, I press out any remaining juice and discard it. The recipe is great with those changes. I would have given it five stars if it were not for the addition the bananas and the juice. Bananas just don't work well in this recipe. Also, the addition of the juice will ruin it. Make it with those changes, use about a 1/2 package of mini marshmallows and use finely chopped walnuts or pecans and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JePeuxCuisiner

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States