Pistachio Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
This recipe was AWESOME! The flavors and textures worked well. What I did was drained the pineapple juice from the fruit and only used 1 cup of the juice. I blended the pudding with the juice until thick ( almost right away) and then added just a wee bit more juice to the pudding and blended until thick but smooth. I also added 1/4 teaspoon Almond Extract to the pudding. Then adding the pineapple into the pudding I folded in the whipped topping. I completed this with the bananas and I used roasted diced up pistachios instead of walnuts. I will make this all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Yummy! Just like Grandma used to make. I omitted the bananas as I wanted to be able to eat leftovers without having brown, mushy bananas. If I knew I wouldn't have leftovers, I would have put them in. I didn't put the nuts in because my family are not nuts over nuts. I did, however, add a medium can of mandarin oranges. It added a little color and gave the flavor a boost. I drained them first as not to add too much liquid to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Do not make pudding mix according to directions. Mix one large pkg of pudding mix with the pineapple and juice. Eliminate the banana but you can use a small jar of candied cherries. I use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Mine turned out perfectly. Apparently people can't read a recipe. No where in this recipe does it say to make the pudding first. It says to fold the pudding mix, which would be the mix right out of the pudding package, into the whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
My family loves this almond flavored, fluffy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnfield, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I made it just like the recipe said, was fabulous.(no where does it say prepare it like on the box.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
If you READ the directions, it turns out perfectly!!! I left out the bananas and walnuts because the kids aren't thrilled with them, but make these changes: Mix the pudding MIX (POWDER) with the crushed pineapple (UNDRAINED), then fold in the whipped topping and finish with marshmallows. Voila. Easy peasy. Made it this way for years and have never had a failure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheffield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
DITTO to what is said below. READ the directions people. DO NOT make the pudding beforehand. Mix DRY pudding with the pineapple. Sheesh. Delish AS WRITTEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I love this salad my fav!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I loved it, but I also added coconut to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States