Pistachio Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This cake was great, and went very fast! I frosted it with one box of pistachio instant pudding and one package of dream whip, mixing both together with 1 1/2 cups of milk. Next time, I plan on adding walnuts to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CatM

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I'm glad I found this recipe! My mother made this pistachio coffee cake for years and I've always loved it. She would put half the batter in the bundt pan, and then sprinkle a mixture of cinnamon, brown sugar and chopped walnuts and then add the remaining batter. Other than that, this is the recipe that I remember from my childhood - and it's super moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
omg amazing people love it love it love it they said it was the best cake in the world. I made it like a cake not a bund cake and frost it with cool wip mix with a package of pistachio pudding mix and a cup of salted penuts on top of the cake it was amazing so perfect and moist I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
---> Have made this for many years in a bundt pan, but use my homemade buttercream frosting with a splash of almond extract… I called it the “KERMIT THE FROG CAKE” (it’s already green enough, so you do not have to add green food coloring) and let younger nephew/nieces decorate with a variety of candies like chocolate stars, M&Ms, candy corn, etc. They LOVED doing that and STILL remember now that they are adults! Yes, as they decorated, there were many licked fingers that 'somehow' got into the frosting! Very moist & delish; still a favorite of mine. ~ NOTE: Have also done the same with a Cherry Chip cake mix (with a splash of almond extract added to the batter) with homemade buttercream frosting tinted pink frosting [with with a splash of both vanilla and almond extract]. Of course, the pink version we called the "MISS PIGGY CAKE." (Sesame Street was obviously very popular in those days)... ~ Good memories and a wonderful (easy) change from the "expected" chocolate cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is one of those recipes I get asked to bring to gatherings. To make it with a heavier pound cake consistency add an 8 oz container of sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I love this cake and have been making it for years--I have to say in my opinion it is much prettier if you use white cake mix instead of yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smitty
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
i have been making this recipe for years but hadn't for a long time...the dh wanted extra almond flavouring so about 1/4 tsp more was added...i dust it with dr. oetker vanilla sugar when cooled...so again...a great cake...it freezes well too!!!...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
This was absolutely delicious..Simple to make and I can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This is a wonderful cake! I baked mine in a 9 x 13 cake pan and it was ready in 30 minutes. I used the recipe for Cool Whipped Frosting made with pistachio pudding instead of vanilla. Then topped it with chopped pecans and served with sliced fresh strawberries and it was delicious! A definite keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a good base recipe but it really needs some jazzing up. I found it to be very bland, I almost added another box of pudding & now wish that I had because it really needs it. I also added some white chocolate chips which helped but I don't think we'll be doing this one again as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StevenandMaggie McClain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Simple Pumpkin Napoleons

See how to make impressive but super-simple pumpkin Napoleons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States