Pistachio Nut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cake! I sliced the cake just once, making 2 layers. I also filled the hole with frosting and it was really pretty. My dad is a big fan of pistachios, and he just loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
My Mother in Law used to make this cake for my husband as child for his birthday every year. She passed away a few years ago and took her recipe to the grave with her. I decided to surprise him this year and used this recipe... he loved it! It was just like mom used to make! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
My family just loved this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this cake this weekend for a get together and it was a hit. It was wonderful in a very understated way. When you ate it, you realized it was good and light, super moist but you didn't want to smear it all over yourself - not that good. BUT both me and my husband, after leaving the cake at a friends house kept thinking about and craving this cake - it's special that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My grandma used to make this for me, I have such fond memories of it! She would always fill the hole with the frosting, & I'm pretty sure she flavoured the cake mix with almond extract or something, because as I remember it the whole thing was quite pistachio-y. Green food colouring for the batter is a must too, if you're making for the family. Really helps with the presentation. Thanks for posting, I can hardly wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Add 3 boxes of pudding butter pecan cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious! So moist and flavorful. The only 2 things I changed was I used white cake mix and coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It was as I remembered,my mother use to make this when we were young and as I started a family and now have my Grand daughter in the kitchen with me at nine, a fun cake to do together,Every Ingredient was on target except for the soda water,mom always used a lemon lime soda as I do now, such as sprite to adds a tad of citrus to it and a white cake instead of yellow and also 1 small package of the pudding also in the cake..Full of Flavor and a family Favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Bezy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Great cake, very moist! The frosting was too sweet for me. The middle layer was not needed. I also made this cake and substituted the pistachio pudding for banana pudding and drizzled chocolate frosting. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel of the Hills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Reminds me of the cake my mother used to make me! Very delicate crumb; I baked it in two 8" layers and it was tricky keeping the layers together. I'm sure as a bundt cake it's perfect! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States