Pistachio Nut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Delicious! So moist and flavorful. The only 2 things I changed was I used white cake mix and coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Parkland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cake! I sliced the cake just once, making 2 layers. I also filled the hole with frosting and it was really pretty. My dad is a big fan of pistachios, and he just loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
My Mother in Law used to make this cake for my husband as child for his birthday every year. She passed away a few years ago and took her recipe to the grave with her. I decided to surprise him this year and used this recipe... he loved it! It was just like mom used to make! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
My family just loved this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this cake this weekend for a get together and it was a hit. It was wonderful in a very understated way. When you ate it, you realized it was good and light, super moist but you didn't want to smear it all over yourself - not that good. BUT both me and my husband, after leaving the cake at a friends house kept thinking about and craving this cake - it's special that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My grandma used to make this for me, I have such fond memories of it! She would always fill the hole with the frosting, & I'm pretty sure she flavoured the cake mix with almond extract or something, because as I remember it the whole thing was quite pistachio-y. Green food colouring for the batter is a must too, if you're making for the family. Really helps with the presentation. Thanks for posting, I can hardly wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Add 3 boxes of pudding butter pecan cake mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
It was as I remembered,my mother use to make this when we were young and as I started a family and now have my Grand daughter in the kitchen with me at nine, a fun cake to do together,Every Ingredient was on target except for the soda water,mom always used a lemon lime soda as I do now, such as sprite to adds a tad of citrus to it and a white cake instead of yellow and also 1 small package of the pudding also in the cake..Full of Flavor and a family Favorite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Bezy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Great cake, very moist! The frosting was too sweet for me. The middle layer was not needed. I also made this cake and substituted the pistachio pudding for banana pudding and drizzled chocolate frosting. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel of the Hills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Reminds me of the cake my mother used to make me! Very delicate crumb; I baked it in two 8" layers and it was tricky keeping the layers together. I'm sure as a bundt cake it's perfect! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denitomi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States