Pistachio Nut Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Great cake! I sliced the cake just once, making 2 layers. I also filled the hole with frosting and it was really pretty. My dad is a big fan of pistachios, and he just loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
There wasn't enough genuine pistachio flavor for me because I only used the pudding mix and no actual nuts in the cake. People are really surprised by the flavor choice, but pleasantly so. Extremely easy to make, and a great idea that I might apply to other cake mixes with different pudding flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Great cake, very moist! The frosting was too sweet for me. The middle layer was not needed. I also made this cake and substituted the pistachio pudding for banana pudding and drizzled chocolate frosting. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewel of the Hills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
My Mother in Law used to make this cake for my husband as child for his birthday every year. She passed away a few years ago and took her recipe to the grave with her. I decided to surprise him this year and used this recipe... he loved it! It was just like mom used to make! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly but, unfortunately, I thought this cake was mediocre. It tasted very fake and processed, and didn't have as much pistachio flavor as I would have expected using a total of 2 boxes of pudding mix. I served it for St. Patrick's Day, most people thought it was okay, but I ended up throwing about a third of it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trappedinMN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I made this cake this weekend for a get together and it was a hit. It was wonderful in a very understated way. When you ate it, you realized it was good and light, super moist but you didn't want to smear it all over yourself - not that good. BUT both me and my husband, after leaving the cake at a friends house kept thinking about and craving this cake - it's special that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I've made this cake many times for my son who's birthday is on March 17th. It always turns out good. I use a sprite or 7up instead of club soda. I also use cool whip instead of the instant whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
My grandma used to make this for me, I have such fond memories of it! She would always fill the hole with the frosting, & I'm pretty sure she flavoured the cake mix with almond extract or something, because as I remember it the whole thing was quite pistachio-y. Green food colouring for the batter is a must too, if you're making for the family. Really helps with the presentation. Thanks for posting, I can hardly wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
My family just loved this cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Just tastes like any old cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States