Pistachio Hazelnut Baklava Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amaliam
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I just made it for my boyfriend for the fistt time and it cane out so delicious. He loves it. The only thing i did different was that I put 1/2 cup less sugar in the sauce. We don't like the baclava that is so sweet you can only have one piece. This is a 5 star for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Thanks it worked it looks like a pro! I really like it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
First time I have personally made baklava was with this recipe. Ive had it from others as well as the store bought. It was good. The sauce definately yields more than enough that the baklava could've been overly saturated. I only used half. I saved the other half in a mason jar and plan on using it as a syrup for other deliciousness. Maybe pancakes, not sure yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe had a great flavor but it was swimming in liquid. You need to increase the honey and reduce the water. 2 1/2 cups of water is excessive. I had to pour off excess liquid. 1-1/2 cups is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jerricaben
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Pistachio is my favorite nut. Hazelnut is my second favorite. And I've never had Baklava. Clearly I had to make this recipe! I made my first batch on Thanksgiving '09. The only things I did differently was use a 13x9x2" pan, omit the whole cloves, and I cut mine in squares. The 1st time I made it (not knowing any better) I ran out of butter before putting on the last top 8 layers. So I had to melt an additional stick of butter. Yeah it was so buttery that when you cut it with a fork buttery goodness would seep out. Everyone LOVED IT. They had seconds and took some with them for the road trip back home. I had left over nuts and left over syrup from the 1st batch - so I made it again (last night): This time I had left over butter as the recipe indicated I would: "Heat the remaining melted butter until boiling, and drizzle it evenly over the whole pan". I only poured half of what I had left over. This time around I dusted the top with left over nut/sugar mix. The cooking time 1:15 was too much and it made the top layer a bit brown instead of golden. Didn't taste any different. I would check it after an hour, if it risen and golden, pull it. I would not use whole cloves to garnish (useless unless edible. Use extra pistachios). T This was excellent, and very impressive to make for others. It doesn't take that long to make and it's not hard to make either. The layering takes a bit and I'm a bit forgetful so keeping count of layers was the only frustrating part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Not enough honey in this recipe. I preferred the plain recipe with more honey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I've made this a few times and it always disappears. Pistachios are great, and I have used other nuts like walnuts if I have no hazelnuts. I'm glad I found it again, it will make a great Thanksgiving gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
The taste made this well worth the work, never had better anywhere...it is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This recipe gets a 4 for taste but a 2 for ease. I have made baklava before with similiar results, but this recipe was more complicated than it needed to be. I do like the different nuts it calls for-pistachios and hazelnuts. They do give it a different flavor than the usual walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Mine came out a little stickier than I believe it should have but otherwise, it was VERY tasty and very impressive to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baklava

Discover how surprisingly easy it is to make this classic, nutty Greek dessert.

Easy Baklava

See how to make sweet and easy baklava.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States