Pistachio Crusted Chicken Breasts with Sun-Dried Cherry and Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe was really good I made it with my mom for dinner and everyone loved it even my little sister who is a really picky eater. Also, 1 shallot was just enough for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tezcali
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is a very good dish. I used whole eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice to make it. I added 1/2 clove of garlic. The sauce would not thicken on its own, so I needed to add cornstarch to it. (My girlfriend's suggestion) She told me to make sure I mix the cornstarch with cold water before adding it to the sauce to avoid clumping. Worked like a charm. The flavors of the sauce work really well with the crunch and texture of the chicken. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I used dark skinless bone in pieces of chicken because that is what I had. Letting the chicken dry for a few moments after crusting it helped. I browned it on all sides before baking it and I sprayed with olive oil spray the top side when I first put it in. I turned once during baking and cooked to 165 degree meat temp. I tented it and the temp rose to almost 170 (Fahrenheit). I had no scallions, so I used very finely diced onions in the sauce, I used olive oil instead of butter and I used about a cup and a half of fresh well drained cherries in place of dried ones and only about 5/8 of a cup of orange juice. I cooked a long and added about 1/4 cup pf sugar, while to release the pectin in the fruit.This all worked very well. Completely Delicious. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was wonderful! I served it for Easter (dietary restrictions eliminated lamb and no one in my house is a big fan of ham) with wild rice and roasted baby vegetables. I would suggest that only half of the breading is needed. I ended up throwing out a huge amount full of VERY expensive pistachios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was perfect as written! My entire family loved it. You have to allow the sauce to cook long enough to reduce or else it will not be thick. This is going in my 'Family Favorites' file, and it would be fantastic to serve on holidays and for company. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
We made this for ourselves on Valentine's Day last year (in '09). It was TERRIFIC. We also made orange juice tzimmes (glorified carrot coins) and mushroom risotto to eat with the chicken. We had plenty of leftovers! Accompanying recipes are on this website. Tzimmes -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Didn't mess with the wine or the freshly squeezed juice. I used juice from frozen concentrate and I "reconstituted" the cherries by letting them soak all day in enough Grand Marnier to cover. I'll make extra sauce next time. Seems the more I play with the Grand Marnier the more kitchen fun I have. Hmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I could not tell there was pistachio in my coating - maybe I chopped it too fine. Breading stayed on the chicken and looke nice. I had my pan too hot on the first side of the chicken, it got quite dark very fast. The sauce really makes this a stand-out dish. I had leftover cranberry chutney which I heated with a bit of red wine and poured over top. Worthy of a dish for company next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this with pecans, since I had some on hand and pistachios were so expensive. I also added a little salt to the sauce. Very good! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was very good, but the sauce never thickened up no matter how long I cooked it. Will try again..chicken was great even without it. Cut back the pistachios to 1 cup and you will still have enough breading. Couldn't bear to throw out all those pricey nuts. pecan would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States