Pistachio Crusted Chicken Breasts with Sun-Dried Cherry and Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I hate to only give this 3 stars, because I think it has potential, and I think some of the problem was with me! First of all, I could not find shelled pistachios in my store, so it took MUCH longer than 20 minutes to prepare as I had to shell 2 c. of nuts! I also browned both sides of the chicken before putting it in the oven which I definitely recommend. I will say the chicken smelled great while it was baking. Now about the sauce...I would cut the amount of shallots in about half. That flavor was overwhelming. And this part was definitley my fault..we are not wine "common sewers" so the red wine I had was probably not very good. And I didn't use fresh orange juice (really, who has time for that?) So my problem was that I had a hard time getting the sauce to reduce and thicken. I turned up the heat and finally I just had to serve it b/c the chicken was done. The chicken did have a very nice flavor, I must say. I will probably give this another try with fewer shallots and better wine and hope for the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Didn't mess with the wine or the freshly squeezed juice. I used juice from frozen concentrate and I "reconstituted" the cherries by letting them soak all day in enough Grand Marnier to cover. I'll make extra sauce next time. Seems the more I play with the Grand Marnier the more kitchen fun I have. Hmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
We made this for ourselves on Valentine's Day last year (in '09). It was TERRIFIC. We also made orange juice tzimmes (glorified carrot coins) and mushroom risotto to eat with the chicken. We had plenty of leftovers! Accompanying recipes are on this website. Tzimmes -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was wonderful! I served it for Easter (dietary restrictions eliminated lamb and no one in my house is a big fan of ham) with wild rice and roasted baby vegetables. I would suggest that only half of the breading is needed. I ended up throwing out a huge amount full of VERY expensive pistachios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe was really good I made it with my mom for dinner and everyone loved it even my little sister who is a really picky eater. Also, 1 shallot was just enough for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Both the sauce and the chicken were delicious recipes, but I wasn't totally convinced they belonged together. My boyfriend and I added a few tablespoons of flour to the sauce because it didn't thicken up (or seem likely to given the lack of thickening agent . . . maybe I missed something in the recipe?). I would make both of these pieces again, but I think I would pair them differently. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryestherk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was perfect as written! My entire family loved it. You have to allow the sauce to cook long enough to reduce or else it will not be thick. This is going in my 'Family Favorites' file, and it would be fantastic to serve on holidays and for company. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this with pecans, since I had some on hand and pistachios were so expensive. I also added a little salt to the sauce. Very good! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was very good, but the sauce never thickened up no matter how long I cooked it. Will try again..chicken was great even without it. Cut back the pistachios to 1 cup and you will still have enough breading. Couldn't bear to throw out all those pricey nuts. pecan would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I follow recipes as written. The chicken turned out perfect and delicious and alone would be 5 stars. But the sauce was not good and overpowered by orange flavor. I recommend the chicken but skip the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States