Pistachio Crusted Chicken Breasts with Sun-Dried Cherry and Orange Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I used dark skinless bone in pieces of chicken because that is what I had. Letting the chicken dry for a few moments after crusting it helped. I browned it on all sides before baking it and I sprayed with olive oil spray the top side when I first put it in. I turned once during baking and cooked to 165 degree meat temp. I tented it and the temp rose to almost 170 (Fahrenheit). I had no scallions, so I used very finely diced onions in the sauce, I used olive oil instead of butter and I used about a cup and a half of fresh well drained cherries in place of dried ones and only about 5/8 of a cup of orange juice. I cooked a long and added about 1/4 cup pf sugar, while to release the pectin in the fruit.This all worked very well. Completely Delicious. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tezcali
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is a very good dish. I used whole eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice to make it. I added 1/2 clove of garlic. The sauce would not thicken on its own, so I needed to add cornstarch to it. (My girlfriend's suggestion) She told me to make sure I mix the cornstarch with cold water before adding it to the sauce to avoid clumping. Worked like a charm. The flavors of the sauce work really well with the crunch and texture of the chicken. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clifton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I could not tell there was pistachio in my coating - maybe I chopped it too fine. Breading stayed on the chicken and looke nice. I had my pan too hot on the first side of the chicken, it got quite dark very fast. The sauce really makes this a stand-out dish. I had leftover cranberry chutney which I heated with a bit of red wine and poured over top. Worthy of a dish for company next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUTHCOOPER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I follow recipes as written. The chicken turned out perfect and delicious and alone would be 5 stars. But the sauce was not good and overpowered by orange flavor. I recommend the chicken but skip the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This was very good, but the sauce never thickened up no matter how long I cooked it. Will try again..chicken was great even without it. Cut back the pistachios to 1 cup and you will still have enough breading. Couldn't bear to throw out all those pricey nuts. pecan would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made this with pecans, since I had some on hand and pistachios were so expensive. I also added a little salt to the sauce. Very good! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zobird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was perfect as written! My entire family loved it. You have to allow the sauce to cook long enough to reduce or else it will not be thick. This is going in my 'Family Favorites' file, and it would be fantastic to serve on holidays and for company. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Both the sauce and the chicken were delicious recipes, but I wasn't totally convinced they belonged together. My boyfriend and I added a few tablespoons of flour to the sauce because it didn't thicken up (or seem likely to given the lack of thickening agent . . . maybe I missed something in the recipe?). I would make both of these pieces again, but I think I would pair them differently. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryestherk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This recipe was really good I made it with my mom for dinner and everyone loved it even my little sister who is a really picky eater. Also, 1 shallot was just enough for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This was wonderful! I served it for Easter (dietary restrictions eliminated lamb and no one in my house is a big fan of ham) with wild rice and roasted baby vegetables. I would suggest that only half of the breading is needed. I ended up throwing out a huge amount full of VERY expensive pistachios!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States