Pistachio Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I used a pie plate instead of the 9x13 and cut everything in half. Actually I made it all up and put the other half in the fridge to enjoy later. I followed the recipe exactly and it was fantastic. Very easy to use. When I tasted the crust by itself I was worried it wouldn't be very good but once it's all put together it's really nice to have that kind of bland crust, and the taste of the nutes in the crust really enhanced the flavor of the pistachio. I detest walnuts so I used slivered almonds and they were yummy. I also didn't decorate with the cherries and since my almonds were so big I didn't use the pistachio nuts on top. Next time I think I'll use pistachio nuts in the crust. Will definitly be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
I hate walnuts, so I use chopped pecans in the crust! I'll bet it's good with almonds, or pistachios, or cashews... peanuts would probably be good with a chocolate pudding! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCORTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
Excellent when almonds are used in place of walnuts (almond and pistachio are a match made in heaven). I also use real whipped cream instead of whipped topping. Try these changes, you won't be disappointed! I have also made this with an additional layer of chocolate pudding and then sprinkled mini chocolate chips on top (but you'll need a larger pan, 11x15 - great for a crowd).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Big hit! I don't really like cream cheese so I cut that in half and added more whipped topping to the mixture (2nd layer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This pie is an all time favorite. My Aunt made it every christmas. I was so excited when I found you had the recipe on here. Thanks, it is now a regular dessert in our house. turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
My friend gave me this recipe and it is FANTASTIC! I have not met one person who didn't salivate over it and beg me to make it again. There is one difference in her recipe though, and I think it makes a big difference. For the crust on the bottom, she used 1cup flour, 1/2 cup melted butter and 1/2 cup walnuts. after you mix and press into the bottom of the pan only bake 20 minutes tops. This recipe gives you a crispy crust that not only tastes better (in my opinion) but holds up and spreads without crumbling into your first layer. Otherwise, this recipe is great and I am glad it is here! You'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I enjoyed this recipe, but changed the crust slightly. I added 3 Tbsp sugar, added almond flavoring and vanilla flavoring and used chopped pistachio nuts instead of walnuts. I baked it for 25 minutes. The crust then had a cookie taste and everyone liked it. I found that I couldn't really taste the cream cheese layer so next time I will double that layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Had this at a luncheon and had to find the recipe. Found it here, and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Just the recipe I was looking for. Great summer dessert. Would be good with chocolate pudding, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
yummy, used sugar free cool whip, sugar free pudding, low fat milk, low fat creamcheese and the regular confectionary sug in cream cheese mixture. Will try w/ chocolate pud next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States