Pistachio Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by terrie
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great Pie!!! I didn't have the correct size pan,mine was a little smaller but no big deal.I used all the batter for the crust so it was a little thicker, do to smaller pan, but that was ok. The walnuts in the crust was so good, my sis n law went nuts over it. My pudding I could only find the low fat, then I noticed the ounces are smaller. So before I panicked to much, I was making the for Thanksgiving dinner. I had bought 3 boxes, then just kinda figured out the correct amount of milk to use and only used two boxes. It was perfect. Made my own whip cream from whipping cream and a little bit of sugar. I personally don't care for pistachios, but made like this and grounded up, I love them. We had a pie contest with my in laws, so I waited until later to put cherries on top. I didn't win, but this year I was not on the bottom either. I will absoulty use this recipe again and will be something different for church banquets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this also but changed it a bit, I added 1 tsp vanilla and 3 TBS sugar to the crust, I also added 1 c of cool whip to the cream cheese mixture, and added 1 box of chocolate pudding layer on top of that, then the pistachio pudding and topped with cool whip and chopped pistachio's. Took it to family reunion and people couldn't get enough of it. I also made a gluten free version for my 2 grandsons with celiac disease, just substitute gluten free flour in the crust and make sure all other ingredients are gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
This is an all time favorite with my family.(It's not easy to find anything that all five children love!) I do, however, use half vanilla and half pistacio pudding...it makes the filling milder and we seem to like it better. It's surprising how much a simple adjustment can make. (I also use the sugar free pudding mix)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
We love this and make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
LOVE IT! I make it every year for Christmas and use red food coloring for the whipped cream so it is Christmas colors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
One of my best recipes! When I take it to pot lucks, I print up several copies of the recipe beforehand because everyone wants it. My version uses pistachios in the crust instead of walnuts, and no maraschino cherries on top and it's fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I have a very similar recipe that was my Grandmother's...4 layer cake. The crust is a butter and flour mixture. Next layer is cream cheese, powdered sugar and cool whip. Pudding goes on next and the last layer is cool whip. So yummy. will have to try it your way next time. Thanks for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was amazing. LOVED It. However, I used pistachios instead of walnuts for the crust. I brought this to a potluck and it was gone fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicchick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Really, really good!!! I would recommend doubling the cream cheese filling and adding a bit of sugar to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Excellent! Was a huge hit at many gatherings, I am always asked to share the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori VE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States