Pistachio Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
i frosted this cake with pistachio pudding and whip cream. the presentation was heavenly. however, the taste was eh... boring. i couldn't taste the pistachio in the cake mixture even when i ate it all alone. the frosting made this cake, and next time i'll just eat the pudding. --UPDATE-- i tried this again because i needed a "green" cake, but i tweaked it a bit. i used 1 cup water, 1/3 oil, 3 eggs, 1/4 chocolate syrup and a drizzle of extra chocolate syrup when all the batter was in the bundt pan. i baked it for 45 minutes, and it was terribly delicious. the flavors were much more enhanced this time around, and my critic brother ate more than a couple of slices. now, that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent recipe! I have made this numerous times for company and it never fails that they ask for the recipe. We always sprinkle each slice with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was a really good cake. I added some green food coloring paste and it was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
DELICIOUS. moist and easy and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
A very moist cake with a fairly subtle pistachio taste...I dusted the top of the cake with powdered sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Very moist cake. Used 1/2 cup of chocolate syrup (becuase I ran out) but it still tasted chocolatey. I baked the cake in a 13x9in. pan for 35 min. instead of using a tube pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Very good cake! My co workers wished there was more to go around! I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEMEQ83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tununak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Great cake! Moist and flavourful. It didn't last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinity's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
This cake was very tender i made it exactly as the recipe said it was a little taste of paradise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This cake is so great!! and so moist!!... I made mine with a white cake mix, didnt have yellow.. I also only used 3/4 cup water..I mixed in macadamia nut pieces..I did not use the chocolate syrup at all, instead made a chocolate icing and drizzled it over the cake when it was still warm.. MMmmm!! Cant wait to make it again for St Patricks Day dinner for dessert! Kiki (Brampton,ON Canada)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States