Pistachio Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Reminds me of the cake my mom used to make. Me and my girls love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxon Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I improved the chocolate flavor by adding 1 tablespoon of cocoa powder and 1 teaspoon of instant coffee to the chocolate half. It did a better job of bringing out the chocolate and hiding the yellow-cake flavor. Overall, this makes an excellent and impressive cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Love this and so does the whole family!!! I am always asked to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasonL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Very good. Would have liked to taste more chocolate and pistachio flavor instead of the yellow cake mix. I even added more cocoa powder to the recipe for more of a chocolatey taste, but the yellow cake taste came out nonetheless. I poured the easy cake glaze from another recipe on this site and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I made this last night because i remember this from years ago....I used a fancy bundt pan and it came out delicios and high....I detected the yellow cake mix taste but with the choc. syrup it kind of covered it up....i would make it again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
i was in a pinch and needed a cake to make with things on hand. made this cake for my sister's birthday. it's a very pretty cake that looks quite difficult to make but soooo easy! my sister and i thought it was too oily and perhaps should be a little sweeter but the lack of sweetness could have been due to the oil. some other guests could not stop eating it - they thought it was GREAT! i'd make again in a pinch but would cut back on the oil and replace w/more chocolate syrup. thanks for sharing this great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvpickles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makakilo, Hawaii, USA
Photo by ernesta
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
i frosted this cake with pistachio pudding and whip cream. the presentation was heavenly. however, the taste was eh... boring. i couldn't taste the pistachio in the cake mixture even when i ate it all alone. the frosting made this cake, and next time i'll just eat the pudding. --UPDATE-- i tried this again because i needed a "green" cake, but i tweaked it a bit. i used 1 cup water, 1/3 oil, 3 eggs, 1/4 chocolate syrup and a drizzle of extra chocolate syrup when all the batter was in the bundt pan. i baked it for 45 minutes, and it was terribly delicious. the flavors were much more enhanced this time around, and my critic brother ate more than a couple of slices. now, that's saying a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Excellent recipe! I have made this numerous times for company and it never fails that they ask for the recipe. We always sprinkle each slice with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was a really good cake. I added some green food coloring paste and it was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
DELICIOUS. moist and easy and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States