Pistachio Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I liked the ones I made completely from scratch better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gail giddings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Have been making this for years and it's great as is. Snowed in and bored so I took it to a new level. Add almond extract (always have), substituted melted butter for oil (makes it much richer), and for fun, instead of water, used 1 cup cold coffee. OMG, coffee gives the cake much more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
So good!!! I used orange juice instead of water. I used extra chocolate syrup and also some chocolate chips, which made it fudgy without drowning out the pistachio flavor. I topped it with pistachio pudding and chocolate syrup. Very moist. Instead of the cake mix, I use 1 1/2 cups of white flour, 2 cups of sugar, and 1 teaspoon of baking powder, a combination I took from my yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Great recipe! Very moist and very tasty!!! I did find it a little oily and would just cut back on the oil next time. Otherwise a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Easy and delicious! My husband was very surprised to have his favorite flavor in a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CopperGryphon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Good Cake, very moist. I frosted mine with pistachio pudding mixed with whipped cream. I wanted just a little more pistachio flavor to come through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Nice variation of bundt cake. Used some thinned chocolate frosting and green colored white frosting with almond extract to decorate the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This cake is awesome, but you MUST use a cup of orange juice in place of the water. It makes the cake more flavorful and moist. It even stays must days afterwards (if it lasts that long)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
yep! made this for st. patty's day. didn't have chocolate syrup, but did have hersheys whoppers chocolate malt ice cream syrup, which i just squeezed n squeezed, why measure? : ) i drizzled it with powdered sugar glaze, lots, then dusted it with green sanding sugar. Soooo moist n yummy, a do over for sure. Will invest in individual bundt pan for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concordia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I love this cake, a friend used to make it many years ago. But I live in Denver and the two times I've attempted it fell in the center. Does anyone have high altitude suggestions? This doesn't happen when I make a cake mix with no additions. Only when the mix is altered. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States