Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I love this cake and make it often. Everyone at work loves it too. I frost it will a 16 oz container of Cool Whip mixed with a box of instant pistachio pudding and it is very moist and fabulous! I bake it in a bundt pan and it comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
The pistachio cake recipies I have seen here seem to all mention one problem colapsing.I have found a very simple way to make this cake is to use one box of instant cake mix, one package of pistachio pudding(instant) one small container of sour cream and two eggs. Make sure you grease and flour the bundt pan. I also usualy bake at 300. For frosting use another package of the pistachio pudding and a pint of heavy wipping cream, whip this into a frosting and you are good to go. You can change up and add other ingredients as you wish such as chocolate chips and cherries. Ive also changed the cake and puddng mixes to make other flavors. I also reccomend making double the frosting because it is that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wethersfield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I really liked the cake but I did tweak it a bit. After greasing the bundt pan with shortening I coated it with finely chopped almonds then poured the batter in. I also made a whipped cream icing but just powdered sugar would have been fine too. I just happened to have left over heavy cream and needed something to do with it. My cake did shrink a lot when it cooled but it kept it's shape and looked good. I did not add the extra food coloring I thought it was green enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Never add pudding to a cake mix that already has pudding in it. That's what makes it fail. Always start with a cake mix with NO pudding in the mix. Duncan Hines. Works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I've made this cake about 5 times. At least twice, it's completely collapsed during the cooling process, once it didn't rise at all. It always tastes good... but I can't count on it to come out well every time. So, it's a "family-only" cake until I can figure out how to get it to come perfectly every time. Suggestions welcome. auntiej500@netscape.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This is now my favorite all around cake recipe! As for the pistachio..This was OK but on the subtle side. It did stay very moist & light yet stays together. I have made it a few times now and it has really grown on me...I use this combo in other flavored cakes as well. The flavor the 1st time wasn't quite strong enough. I made a pistachio pudding icing as some of the others mentioned (turned out well) and left out the food color as it was a nice light green. I also served it with Ben and Jerry Pistachio Ice Cream, that has a real flavor kick. I like the concept and color here but it needed a little more Oomph. Garnished with Kiwi slices, looked cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
This recipe was a winner. I made it for St. Patrick's day and brought it to work. It was so moist and delicious. I drizzled a frosting on the cake made with confectioner's sugar, milk and almond extract, green food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calliecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
My family liked this "groovy green" cake. I used a heavy cast aluminum nonstick Bundt Pan. Sprayed with nonsalt cooking spray. Baked at 350 degrees for 50 minutes. Let cool in the pan 15 mintues. Then flipped onto plate. Came out with no troubles. The only thing i did differently was only used 2 eggs and added 1/2 cup sour cream. Moist & good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARAJOY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Liberty, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
Fabulous cake! I had a little trouble with the cake collapsing out of the oven, but that may have been my fault. My personal opinion is that the cake tastes best straight out of the refrigerator. I frosted it with a light buttercream frosting and topped it with toasted coconut. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I made this cake for a St Patrick's/birthday party at the office and everyone loved it. I made it exactly as written with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States