Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I've made this pistachio cake recipe for many years and my mother has been making it since at least the seventies. Reminds me of my childhood. Perfect every time and people just love it. Mom came up with a pistachio frosting using pudding mix and a Dream Wip envelope. Wonderful!! Frosting can be made low fat by using skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by der Grimnebulin
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
My cake turned out well, but I did make some modifications. I followed the recipe on the package of cake I used instead of using the amounts called for in this recipe. I didn't have a problem with it collapsing and the consistency was perfect. It was definitely fun to make and great for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Great idea. Tastes great. I will try this with other cake/ pudding combinations. One reviewer said to use the cake mix, pudding and only 2 eggs and some sour cream. The cake still needed 1/2 c water, another egg, 1/4 c oil and extract. My cake baked perfectly and did not collapse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Love this cake!! So fluffy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I made this exactly according to the recipe and had no problems at all. it was very moist and not too sweet. I did add a glaze made of amaretto, comf sugar and half/half. It was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This recipe is a winner!! I've made it several times and everyone just loves it!! Great for Christmas & St. Patrick's Day.... I follow recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This was cute and tasted pretty good. I used PP's advice to sub 1 cup of sour cream for 2 of the eggs and had no trouble with my cake collapsing. Next time I think I will try making some sort of glaze or frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This cake has a great flavor and it's easily to change things up by using other flavors of pudding and other types of cake mix. I thought the pistachio flavor was just fine, not too strong but just enough to be noticeable. The only change I made to the recipe was to leave out the green food coloring. If you're making this for a St. Patrick's day celebration it would be a good idea to add a few drops b/c without it you get a yellow-green color that doesn't quite "pop". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Such an unfortunate experience-- visually and in taste. The texture of this cake is not pleasant; something about using a pudding mix makes the crumb very dense, not like a cake at all and it collapses. Will NOT make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made this exactly as in recipe and used a bundt pan. Didn't use any frosting. I just sprinkled powdered sugar all over. Very moist and tasty. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aescanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States