Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Lovely, lovely, lovely!! To finish it I made a glaze of 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, 1 Tablespoon milk and 5 drops of green food coloring. The glaze was darker than the cake. The "best baker in town" pronounced it perfect. Thanks for making me look good (again) AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this today. I used "pudding in the mix" cake, too. But I added a heaping teaspoon of baking powder to prevent cake from falling as other reviewers complained about. It turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Great summer dessert! I topped with whipped cream (heavy cream and confectioner sugar). I used pudding in the mix cake mix and my cake did not shrink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. I was kind of nervous because I don't bake often. However, the cake was fairly easy to make. After reading the reviews, I decided to stick to the recipe and not change it up. The cake baked for exactly 50 minutes. I allowed it to cool for 15 minutes in the pan and then placed it on a wire rack to cool completely. The cake did not collapse. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and roasted coconut. I think the secret to keep the cake from collapsing is mixing the batter for exactly two minutes. And then I let it sit for about 4-5 minutes. It was nice and fluffy. The only thing I may do differently next time is glaze it with some type of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Wonderful! Received rave review when I brought it to work for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Even though I'd read the reviews, I still ended up with a sunken cake. I used a butter yellow cake mix and used sour cream in the mix. Next time I think that I'll let it cook the full 55 minutes. Although it didn't look perfect, it tasted good. I served it with a whipped cream/mascarpone cheese topping laced with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best cake! My 13 yr old daughter said she wants this on her next birthday! That's an achievement!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Eh, it tastes like a green box cake. Nothing really special. Next time I'd add more almond extract and some real pistachios to see if that peps things up. Very average. I had no problems with my cake falling and I did get cake mix that had no pudding in it (duncan hines) as one other reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have been making this recipe since I was a kid. Here's a wonderful topping: 1 envelope Dream Whip, 1 pkg pistachio pudding, 1.5 cups cold milk. Whip Dream Whip, milk and pudding mix in a chilled bowl. Beat. It's such a creamy topping for this cake. Add extra green food coloring to topping and cake mix for a great, very green St. Patrick's Day cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
i love this cake, but to keep it from collapsing i too took one egg away and added 1/2 cup sour cream - i also have added another box of pistachio pudding to give it a bolder taste and used a cup of oil and 1 cup of water to give it more of a pound cake texture - so moist and just love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Truman Breeden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States