Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Wonderful! Received rave review when I brought it to work for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Even though I'd read the reviews, I still ended up with a sunken cake. I used a butter yellow cake mix and used sour cream in the mix. Next time I think that I'll let it cook the full 55 minutes. Although it didn't look perfect, it tasted good. I served it with a whipped cream/mascarpone cheese topping laced with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best cake! My 13 yr old daughter said she wants this on her next birthday! That's an achievement!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Eh, it tastes like a green box cake. Nothing really special. Next time I'd add more almond extract and some real pistachios to see if that peps things up. Very average. I had no problems with my cake falling and I did get cake mix that had no pudding in it (duncan hines) as one other reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have been making this recipe since I was a kid. Here's a wonderful topping: 1 envelope Dream Whip, 1 pkg pistachio pudding, 1.5 cups cold milk. Whip Dream Whip, milk and pudding mix in a chilled bowl. Beat. It's such a creamy topping for this cake. Add extra green food coloring to topping and cake mix for a great, very green St. Patrick's Day cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
i love this cake, but to keep it from collapsing i too took one egg away and added 1/2 cup sour cream - i also have added another box of pistachio pudding to give it a bolder taste and used a cup of oil and 1 cup of water to give it more of a pound cake texture - so moist and just love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Truman Breeden

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this recipe w/club soda instead of water, no food coloring. I used a cake mix w/pudding already in it and it came out perfectly in 55 min. Nice light green color & moist. I frosted it w/16oz cool whip mixed w/instant pistachio pudding and it was a hit for our St. Patrick's day dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Goshen, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I almost hate to rate and review this recipe because I followed the advice of another reviewer and changed the recipe a bit. I followed everything except the eggs, I only used 2, and I added 1/2 cup of sour cream. Everything else was the same. I was so excited watching it bake through the oven door, it was getting so nice and tall, looked beautiful! I took it out after 50 minutes at 350 degrees and it looked gorgeous. After about 10 minutes or so of cooling in the pan on a rack, I went in to find it less than 1/2 it's size! It had collapsed and is now very dense in the middle. So sad because I wanted to take it to a neighbors for St. Patrick's Day dinner. I don't know what caused the collapse, I've read so many reviews saying they had the same problem. I even read one reviewer that said to be sure and get a cake mix that doesn't already have pudding in the mix, so I got one that didn't. I've made many bundt cake recipes that call for adding pudding to the cake mixe and I've never had this happen to me before. I am wondering if it maybe has too much water. 1 1/2 cups is alot I think. I'll keep reading the reviews, hopefully someday, someone will explain why this happens and have a fix for it. Hope you all have more luck with this recipe than I did. So disappointed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made this recipe as cupcakes. They sunk a bit so next time I believe I would omit the fourth egg. Yummy flavor and everyone loved them! Topped with Irish cream frosting made from flavored coffee creamer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Correctly made this is a great and flavorful bundt cake. But this is a bad recipe. WAY to much water. If you want to make this, follow the directions on the cake mix for the qty of water/oil and baking time. Don't worry about the pudding mix, it just makes the cake more dense, like a pound cake. And take the advise of other posts and use white cake mix. I learned the hard way and didn't read the comments before making it the first time and followed the directions....total failure...batter was way to watery so it did not rise properly in the oven and fell when while cooling. On my 2nd try I ground some pistachios and used them to coat pan instead of flour and left a thicker base in the bottom. So, not frosting needed. I actually made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States