Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I've been making this cake for 20 years. The only difference is: my recipe calls for 8 oz. of lemon/lime soda rather than 1-1/2 cups of water. Also, as a review mentioned, always use a cake mix without pudding in the mix. I never frosted the cake... I loved the flavor of the cake and didn't want to "corrupt" it with frosting. My favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Lovely, lovely, lovely!! To finish it I made a glaze of 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, 1 Tablespoon milk and 5 drops of green food coloring. The glaze was darker than the cake. The "best baker in town" pronounced it perfect. Thanks for making me look good (again) AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this today. I used "pudding in the mix" cake, too. But I added a heaping teaspoon of baking powder to prevent cake from falling as other reviewers complained about. It turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Great summer dessert! I topped with whipped cream (heavy cream and confectioner sugar). I used pudding in the mix cake mix and my cake did not shrink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. I was kind of nervous because I don't bake often. However, the cake was fairly easy to make. After reading the reviews, I decided to stick to the recipe and not change it up. The cake baked for exactly 50 minutes. I allowed it to cool for 15 minutes in the pan and then placed it on a wire rack to cool completely. The cake did not collapse. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and roasted coconut. I think the secret to keep the cake from collapsing is mixing the batter for exactly two minutes. And then I let it sit for about 4-5 minutes. It was nice and fluffy. The only thing I may do differently next time is glaze it with some type of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Wonderful! Received rave review when I brought it to work for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Even though I'd read the reviews, I still ended up with a sunken cake. I used a butter yellow cake mix and used sour cream in the mix. Next time I think that I'll let it cook the full 55 minutes. Although it didn't look perfect, it tasted good. I served it with a whipped cream/mascarpone cheese topping laced with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
The best cake! My 13 yr old daughter said she wants this on her next birthday! That's an achievement!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Eh, it tastes like a green box cake. Nothing really special. Next time I'd add more almond extract and some real pistachios to see if that peps things up. Very average. I had no problems with my cake falling and I did get cake mix that had no pudding in it (duncan hines) as one other reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I have been making this recipe since I was a kid. Here's a wonderful topping: 1 envelope Dream Whip, 1 pkg pistachio pudding, 1.5 cups cold milk. Whip Dream Whip, milk and pudding mix in a chilled bowl. Beat. It's such a creamy topping for this cake. Add extra green food coloring to topping and cake mix for a great, very green St. Patrick's Day cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States