Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Absolutely Perfect! I dusted it with powder sugar. No need for an icing! I baked it in a 9" cake pan because i didnt have a 10" bundt pan. It was done in 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I make this cake often. I buy the store brand yellow cake mix no pudding in it Making it with a pudding in the mix will Not work well. I put in chopped walnuts and also poppy seeds.Oh my gosh it does wonders. I do put in a teaspoon and a half of almond extract. I dust with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Murphy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Made as directed with a non-pudding in the mix cake mix. Was delicious and moist. Came out of the bundt pan beautifully. Definitely a keeper. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Bedford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I just made this cake on Saturday and loved it and so did my parents and inlaws. I read a bunch of the reviews and didn't know if I should follow the recipe or tweak it based on other reviews. I decided to follow the recipe and it was super moist and didn't cave in. I did buy Duncan Hines yellow cake mix which was suggested. I loved this recipe and will def make it again. I did use 1 teaspoon of the almond extract to add more flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by harper57
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I added cinnamon sugar and nuts to the bottom of the pan before filling with batter, no frosting needed this way .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Something is wrong with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and did use a cake mix with no pudding in the mix. It collapsed about 2 minutes out of the oven. 1 1/2 cups water seems like a lot so I wonder if something is wrong with that measurement. Very disappointing!!! Was going to take it to a St. Patrick's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Very moist and the pistachio flavor was subtle with the almond extract. Would absolutly lake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made 3 in bunt pans they were all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I like how simple this recipe is. Sometimes you just want to make something quick and not go the full "from scratch" route. I only used 1 1/4 cups of water because I noticed that my box of cake mix was only 15.25 oz. I think next time I could even go with just 1 cup of water. I did use Pillsbury with pudding already in the mix and I didn't have any issues with the cake sinking, as some other reviewers mentioned. I also added some chopped pistachios to the batter which, made it so much better. I think the taste of the cake as is definitely needs more pistachio flavor. I wouldn't have liked it as much without the real chopped pistachios in it. I think next time I will try this recipe using a mix that doesn't contain pudding (Duncan Hines), maybe use two packages of pistachio pudding, add a full teaspoon of the almond extract or use actual pistachio extract, add more chopped pistachios, and omit the green food coloring. I thought the color was just fine without it. However, the extra green would be nice for a holiday such as St. Patrick's or Christmas. Overall, it was a quick and easy recipe that produced a good enough cake. My family enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I didn't change the recipe at all and it was really moist. I made it for my husband's out of town family tonight and they seemed to like it. Even my husband who isn't a big dessert fan went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dunbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States