Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Tried this with white cake mix with no pudding in cake box. Used two 9x5 loaf pans. This was really, really good! Yes, batter is thick and hard to spread, but baked up nicely. Golden on outside, moist inside. Gave as gifts and will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Made recipe as is and it was wonderful. Took it to work and everyone thought it was very good as well. Next time will try one of the frostings mentioned by some of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Excellent. I made no changes to the recipe. I did add a powdered sugar glaze to give it a little added sweetness and that made it perfect. The cake didn't fall, was VERY moist and I liked the color a lot. Oh yeah, I may have added a tad more almond extract to make the taste pop. I added almond extract to the sugar glaze as well. Overall, excellent recipe. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly as written. Cake came out beautiful. Tastes like yellow cake. No pistachio taste whatsoever. If I made it again I would add actual pistachio nuts, more extract, maybe choc chips. What I have now is a green vanilla cake. Too bad it's not st. Patrick's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I've been making this cake for 20 years. The only difference is: my recipe calls for 8 oz. of lemon/lime soda rather than 1-1/2 cups of water. Also, as a review mentioned, always use a cake mix without pudding in the mix. I never frosted the cake... I loved the flavor of the cake and didn't want to "corrupt" it with frosting. My favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Lovely, lovely, lovely!! To finish it I made a glaze of 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, 1 Tablespoon milk and 5 drops of green food coloring. The glaze was darker than the cake. The "best baker in town" pronounced it perfect. Thanks for making me look good (again) AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this today. I used "pudding in the mix" cake, too. But I added a heaping teaspoon of baking powder to prevent cake from falling as other reviewers complained about. It turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Great summer dessert! I topped with whipped cream (heavy cream and confectioner sugar). I used pudding in the mix cake mix and my cake did not shrink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. I was kind of nervous because I don't bake often. However, the cake was fairly easy to make. After reading the reviews, I decided to stick to the recipe and not change it up. The cake baked for exactly 50 minutes. I allowed it to cool for 15 minutes in the pan and then placed it on a wire rack to cool completely. The cake did not collapse. I sprinkled it with powdered sugar and roasted coconut. I think the secret to keep the cake from collapsing is mixing the batter for exactly two minutes. And then I let it sit for about 4-5 minutes. It was nice and fluffy. The only thing I may do differently next time is glaze it with some type of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Wonderful! Received rave review when I brought it to work for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States