Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Made 3 in bunt pans they were all great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I like how simple this recipe is. Sometimes you just want to make something quick and not go the full "from scratch" route. I only used 1 1/4 cups of water because I noticed that my box of cake mix was only 15.25 oz. I think next time I could even go with just 1 cup of water. I did use Pillsbury with pudding already in the mix and I didn't have any issues with the cake sinking, as some other reviewers mentioned. I also added some chopped pistachios to the batter which, made it so much better. I think the taste of the cake as is definitely needs more pistachio flavor. I wouldn't have liked it as much without the real chopped pistachios in it. I think next time I will try this recipe using a mix that doesn't contain pudding (Duncan Hines), maybe use two packages of pistachio pudding, add a full teaspoon of the almond extract or use actual pistachio extract, add more chopped pistachios, and omit the green food coloring. I thought the color was just fine without it. However, the extra green would be nice for a holiday such as St. Patrick's or Christmas. Overall, it was a quick and easy recipe that produced a good enough cake. My family enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I didn't change the recipe at all and it was really moist. I made it for my husband's out of town family tonight and they seemed to like it. Even my husband who isn't a big dessert fan went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Tried this with white cake mix with no pudding in cake box. Used two 9x5 loaf pans. This was really, really good! Yes, batter is thick and hard to spread, but baked up nicely. Golden on outside, moist inside. Gave as gifts and will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Made recipe as is and it was wonderful. Took it to work and everyone thought it was very good as well. Next time will try one of the frostings mentioned by some of the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pagettgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Excellent. I made no changes to the recipe. I did add a powdered sugar glaze to give it a little added sweetness and that made it perfect. The cake didn't fall, was VERY moist and I liked the color a lot. Oh yeah, I may have added a tad more almond extract to make the taste pop. I added almond extract to the sugar glaze as well. Overall, excellent recipe. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly as written. Cake came out beautiful. Tastes like yellow cake. No pistachio taste whatsoever. If I made it again I would add actual pistachio nuts, more extract, maybe choc chips. What I have now is a green vanilla cake. Too bad it's not st. Patrick's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I've been making this cake for 20 years. The only difference is: my recipe calls for 8 oz. of lemon/lime soda rather than 1-1/2 cups of water. Also, as a review mentioned, always use a cake mix without pudding in the mix. I never frosted the cake... I loved the flavor of the cake and didn't want to "corrupt" it with frosting. My favorite cake ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Lovely, lovely, lovely!! To finish it I made a glaze of 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/4 teaspoon almond extract, 1 Tablespoon milk and 5 drops of green food coloring. The glaze was darker than the cake. The "best baker in town" pronounced it perfect. Thanks for making me look good (again) AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this today. I used "pudding in the mix" cake, too. But I added a heaping teaspoon of baking powder to prevent cake from falling as other reviewers complained about. It turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Alstott Postel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States