Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
So moist, so delicious! My mom used to make a pistachio cake for me as a kid and she would frost it with chocolate icing. I enjoyed this cake with a dusting of powdered sugar to let the pistachio flavor really come through. I was nervous about not tasting the pistachio because of other reviews. Btw, I had a cake mix with pudding already in it, that's what I had on hand, but I didn't have any issues with the cake collapsing as I read in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I was looking for a cake that would coincide with St. Patties day and came across this one. When I sampled the batter, I was hoping for more of a pistachio flavor, but figured that I would give it a shot this way first. After frosting it with the whipped topping/pudding mix, I was glad that I stayed with the recipe. What a light and refreshing cake. Definitely a keeper. In reading the reviews, I saw that a lot of people were having problems with the cake falling. I have used cake mixes for a lot of different things and when it comes to adding pudding to the mix, I have always followed the directions on the back of the cake mix box, as the different brands all vary in the amount of oil, water and eggs that needs to be added. So I stuck to my method and then just added the almond extract and it came out perfect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I have baked this cake, and before I bake it I get some Hersheys Syrup pour on the top of the cake and swirl it around with a butter knife, then bake it, and it is really tasty. I use a butter cream icing or pistachio pudding icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
After many tries I have finally found the remedy for the rise and fall of this recipe! 1 pkg of Duncan Hines yellow cake mix (it's the only one without pudding in the mix! That's crucial!) 1 small pkg of pistachio pudding mix 1/2 cup of sugar 4 eggs 1/2 cup of water 1/2 cup of vegetable oil 1 8 oz. Cup of sour cream 1/2 tsp of almond extract Several drops of green food coloring Mix all ingredients together and pour into greased and floured bundt pan (or the spray with the flour in it) Bake at 350 for 1:05 to 1:10. Came out perfectly! !!!! A huge HIT with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmelee
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly and came out beautiful. Definitely a crowd pleaser. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made this for a Christmas luncheon at work. It was a huge hit. I used applesauce as a one for one substitution for the oil. It added moisture to the cake. It was sweet, but not overly sweet. They want me to make it again, and that's the true mark of a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love this cake! I make mine just the the recipe calls for and then add the pack of pudding. For the frosting I use 16 oz. whipping cream, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 pack of pudding mix. turns out great. You can also do this with any white cake mix and just change the pudding to what ever you want, and the same with making the frosting! 9 x 13 pan is what I usually use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Loved the recipe but made it sugar free by using Pillsbury's sugar free yellow cake mix and Jello's sugar free instant pistachio pudding. I also sprinkled sugar free powdered sugar (3 T Splenda + 2 T cornstarch processed in a mini-blender) on the top. Next time I'll try sugar free Cool Whip with sugar free pistachio pudding for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I made this cake yesterday and when I took it out of the oven it came up to the top of the pan. However, after 15 min. it reduced to about half the size. It didn't look nice at all. Like a miniature cake. I wouldn't make it again unless there is a fix. Haven't tasted it yet as I made it for a birthday celebration. Actually, I'm embarrassed to take it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States