Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Yum! Tastes like a cake mix but that's expected. Made 18 cupcakes. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes. Used white cake with pudding already in the mix. They did rise nicely but shrunk a little. I could see where a full-sized cake would sink. These were lovely as cupcakes. Made with Cool Whipped Frosting from this site with sugar free pistachio pudding. Nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this with a 15oz box of yellow cake mix instead of 18oz and I had no problems at all with it falling and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I love this recipe, but I beat it for 5 minutes on high instead of 3 minutes and find the cake keeps its shape every time! Never had a problem with it collapsing. I am going to switch out the pistachio with a cherry pudding, and add Cool Whip and cherry pie filling for a topping, for a Valentine's pot luck lunch at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet McCormick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I tried this for Christmas. We loved how moist it was. I did not use a bundt pan and instead I used a glass rectangle pan and baked it for 20 minutes less than what it called for. Also, I did not use any green food coloring, it was green enough! I replaced the powdered sugar coating with cream cheese frosting and it is an amazing combination! I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Really liked this recipe. I used Duncan Hines cake mix as advised in the comments. I also added chopped pistachios and a powder sugar/butter glaze. I don't think that the food coloring is necessary unless you want the cake to be really green. Anyhow, my coworkers love me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I think it's very good. Not too many ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I made this cake last night and it was delicious. The only thing that didn't turn out the same was the colour of the cake - mine turned out a very light green/yellow colour. For future I would probably choose to use a white cake mix or more dye to balance it out. However, the cake turned out moist, flavourful, and very light and fluffy as promised! Feel free to check out photos of my version of the pistachio cake on www.forloveofbaking.com. Sydney
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Use fluorescent green food color if you can find it. Good without glaze or icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
This was a huge hit at my cookout!! Everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I am going to an Italian Fest in August and decided that I would make an Italian Flag layer cake - similar to an Italian Spumoni cake minus the chocolate - so I needed a pistachio layer, vanilla layer and a cherry layer. Due to the problems (cake not rising or falling) I read from the other reviewers I decided that I should probably run a trial on this layer. As I need a very large cake I used the above recipe x 2 and cooked it in a large roasting pan at 350°F for ~35 minutes. I also used a cake mix - Pillsbury Super Moist White - with pudding in the mix - After letting it cool for 30 min the cake came out perfectly intact. I did not have any problems with making or baking this cake per the above instructions. Great Cake - rave reviews from the colleagues and neighbors who benefitted by this trial run. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States