Pistachio Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Such an unfortunate experience-- visually and in taste. The texture of this cake is not pleasant; something about using a pudding mix makes the crumb very dense, not like a cake at all and it collapses. Will NOT make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made this exactly as in recipe and used a bundt pan. Didn't use any frosting. I just sprinkled powdered sugar all over. Very moist and tasty. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aescanio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used to packages of pistachio pudding and skipped the food coloring. Came out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I LOVE THIS CAKE. I made it with the whipped cream&pistachio pudding mix frosting suggested in another review. AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deerfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Used one of the customized versions in the reviews (with cake mix, pudding mix, eggs and sour cream only). Turned out very fluffy, almost like a sponge cake. Served it as a dinosaur cake (carved and decorated) for my son's birthday and got a lot of MMM's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Beth S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Not enough "Pistachio" flavor. It would be fun to serve at a St. Patrick's Day party because of the color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I agree that there simply isn't enough pistachio flavor. Next time I will double the pistachio pudding., Also, I diced and toasted some pistachios and there them into the batter.. It helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baconbutterwino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
We just came back from the Inaugural Cruise on the NCL Epic and they had a pistachio pound cake that my wife just loved. I tried this recipe as this was the closest I could find. This cake came out AWESOME.My wife it. The pudding kept it very moist and she was impressed. I used the sugar free pudding instead to try and cut a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrick, New York, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
My hubby said it was good, easy recipe to make when your in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I made this for my husband's St. Patrick's Day office party and I have never had so many requests for the recipe. Try it, you will LOVE it and it is sooooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seanclaudia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Haslet, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States