Pistachio Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This is a super rich cake. I cut the frosting amount in half, as otherwise it's too sweet for us. But I have to say that I've never brought it to a party without people begging me for the recipe by the end of the day. Delicious! Edit 05/06: It's been a couple of years and I'm still making this cake. Made it tonight for a church cake auction tomorrow. Wanted to mention that I've started adding about half of a small can of drained crushed pineapple to the frosting...fold in in right before I put it on the cake. It adds a really nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made this for a bunch of our relatives over Christmas break and everyone loved it! I substituted applesauce for the oil and egg beaters for the eggs and no one even knew. I also mixed the second pudding packet with some coolwhip for the frosting. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Great recipe! I used two 8 oz. containers of Cool Whip to mix with the pudding mix as frosting instead of using the packets of whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I am teaching a cooking class. My students are seven, eight and nine year olds. I have three boys and five girls. They did the recipe for St. Pats day. It was hit. It was easy and their families loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
It was what I had been looking for forever. Everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
MMMM... this cake was sooooo good! I would definatly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Delicious! I didn't have lemon/lime soda but substituted cream soda and it was good! I also made it in a bundt pan without any frosting (had to bake a little longer). Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Great recipe! I prefer to use a tub of Cool Whip mixed with one packet of pistachio pudding for frosting as it has a stiffer consistency. Rave reviews on this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This recipe is delicious and was an Easter hit! I made the icing with pudding, cool whip and a little bit of milk. I also covered the cake with pastel sprinkles-very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made this last night for my Christmas dinner with my friends and it was a hit. I used cool whip with the pudding mix and a small amount of milk for the frosting. Very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States