Pistachio Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 15, 2005
i gave this recipe 4 stars only because it is not a particularly original recipe. that said, i think this is a very good "base" recipe that i like to use for other flavors of cake. i have made it with the pistachio pudding and it is good. ive also used it to make chocolate cakes (chocolate cake mix and vanilla pudding mix) but my favorite by far is my "emergency lemon almond cake". same basic cake recipe, only i use a box of lemon pudding mix and throw in about a cup of slivered almonds. bake in a bundt pan until done, then drizzle with a frosting made of 10x sugar, milk, and lemon extract. sprinkle w/slivered almonds and youve got a beautiful, delicious, moist cake that everyone will think you made yourself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This recipe is delicious and was an Easter hit! I made the icing with pudding, cool whip and a little bit of milk. I also covered the cake with pastel sprinkles-very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
I made this for a bunch of our relatives over Christmas break and everyone loved it! I substituted applesauce for the oil and egg beaters for the eggs and no one even knew. I also mixed the second pudding packet with some coolwhip for the frosting. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
Great recipe! I prefer to use a tub of Cool Whip mixed with one packet of pistachio pudding for frosting as it has a stiffer consistency. Rave reviews on this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
Delicious! I didn't have lemon/lime soda but substituted cream soda and it was good! I also made it in a bundt pan without any frosting (had to bake a little longer). Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This is a super rich cake. I cut the frosting amount in half, as otherwise it's too sweet for us. But I have to say that I've never brought it to a party without people begging me for the recipe by the end of the day. Delicious! Edit 05/06: It's been a couple of years and I'm still making this cake. Made it tonight for a church cake auction tomorrow. Wanted to mention that I've started adding about half of a small can of drained crushed pineapple to the frosting...fold in in right before I put it on the cake. It adds a really nice twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
MMMM... this cake was sooooo good! I would definatly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
I loved the cake, as did my co-workers! I didn't love the frosting though. I think I would make it with Cool Whip next time. I would make the cake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
It was what I had been looking for forever. Everyone in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
this seems like the recipe i'm looking for only i dont know what the dream whip is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States