Pistachio Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
CAKE IS VERY MOIST & EASY TO MAKE. I DIDN'T REALLY SEE THE NEED FOR ALL THE OIL & EGGS. OVERALL THE CAKE IS GOOD. I USED FAT FREE COOL WHIP INSTEAD OF THE DRY DREAM WHIP FOR THE FROSTING/TOPPING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
The cake was very light, airy, delicious and easy to make. I didn't care too much for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada Cowan-Ruhlen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
This was good but I don't think it was anything to rave about. I used a tub of cool whip with the pudding mix for icing and should have used 2 tubs as it was a little grainy. I might try this again using lemon pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I'm not a big cake fan, but wanted something easy to make for a work potluck. But OH MY GOSH THIS CAKE WAS TASTY!!!! I put crushed pistachios on top, and made the "icing" out of coolwhip and pistachio pudding mix. Excellent! I imagine you could substitute other flavors of pudding in this cake and it would be a wonderful alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
A Tremendous Hit! This recipe is so insanely delicious that my family and neighbors devoured it in one sitting! (Everyone took seconds and thirds.) The moist texture combined with the creamy pistachio whipped topping makes this a Must Have in my dessert recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
I have made this cake in the past on several occasions and it is a hit every time! I was never a huge fan of pistachios growing up but you don't have to be to enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I made this last night for my Christmas dinner with my friends and it was a hit. I used cool whip with the pudding mix and a small amount of milk for the frosting. Very good. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Great recipe! I used two 8 oz. containers of Cool Whip to mix with the pudding mix as frosting instead of using the packets of whipped topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
i gave this recipe 4 stars only because it is not a particularly original recipe. that said, i think this is a very good "base" recipe that i like to use for other flavors of cake. i have made it with the pistachio pudding and it is good. ive also used it to make chocolate cakes (chocolate cake mix and vanilla pudding mix) but my favorite by far is my "emergency lemon almond cake". same basic cake recipe, only i use a box of lemon pudding mix and throw in about a cup of slivered almonds. bake in a bundt pan until done, then drizzle with a frosting made of 10x sugar, milk, and lemon extract. sprinkle w/slivered almonds and youve got a beautiful, delicious, moist cake that everyone will think you made yourself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
This recipe is delicious and was an Easter hit! I made the icing with pudding, cool whip and a little bit of milk. I also covered the cake with pastel sprinkles-very festive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States