Pistachio Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe is a favorite of mine for many years. I bake it in a bundt pan, then split into 3 "layers" putting the frosting between each layer. Because there is no frosting for the top of the cake, I dust it lightly with powdered sugar. It's a fun cake to make for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I've made this cake for years!! It was originally called "Watergate Cake" along with "Watergate Salad" also made with pistachio pudding--remember - they called it that because it was filled with NUTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very delicious. The reason I only gave it 4 starts was because I did what other reviewers suggested and used cool whip and about 3/4 of the pudding. I also added pineapple, as suggested to the frosting. Very moist cake, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Great cake and super easy. My co-workers have now made this their birthday cake of choice! I've made it the original way but I've also made a different icing (I prefer this one) by wisking the pudding and milk into Cool Whip. Don't use all the milk - just to the consistency you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This is my favorite cake to bake. The only thing I did to tweak the recipe was adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract. Other than that, it was scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Easy and yummy. I used Cool Whip (with pudding) rather than the Dream Whip/milk combo for the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IheartFood
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this for my relatives and they LOVED it! Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
My husband asked for a pistachio cake and boy, is he picky! He loved this cake. He only wanted confectionary sugar sprinkled on the top and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I was looking for a recipe like this a few weeks ago. I've heard it called other things but basically still pistachio pudding, yellow cake mix made with sprite or 7-up, toffee chips on the top, whip cream. I'm glad that I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeviCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
oh. my. word. this cake is fantastic! i am really trying to make myself NOT eat it all right now. sure the cake deflated after i took it out from the oven [amateur here. that was my first time experiencing a conclave cake] but appearance aside, the TASTE is GREAT! will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States