Pistachio Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by floridatreasure1983
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
amazing!! we accidently added both pkgs of pudding to the cake mix and didn't realize till they were baking, my sweetie and i were doing a 2gether one nite for our employees and figured we'd try them to see if they were ok b-4 a re-do and boy were they good so i will always use the 2 pkgs in the cake mix!! we added chopped milk chocolate! i iced these cupcakes with white chocolate cream cheese icing spinkled with chopped milk chocolate & pistachios!! everyone went nuts!!! no pun intended!! lol!!! best ever!!! would have given a 5 star but never have given one yet... i'm saving it for something???? lol!!!! p.s. after reading a few of the other reviews i think the 2 pkgs of pudding is the reason the flavor was sooo amazing as some of the others spoke of weak flavor & we found no lack of flavor in ours! they were flavorful and moist and delish!! they were also very eye appealing, brite and lively looking but we had also added about 6 drops of green food coloring!! really these were exceptional and this from a true sweets addict!! the chopped milk chocolate truly added a nice dimension definately a worthy addition!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridatreasure1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Port Saint Lucie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Very light and fluffy cake. Not loaded with flavor, but great texture. The frosting is just okay. I might it try again with the addition of some cream cheese and flavoring. For longer-term storage, Cool Whip (instead of dry mix) would definitely hold its shape better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
This cake was awesome. It turned out very moist and flavorful. I followed other's suggestions, and made my frosting out of cool whip and pistachio pudding. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I made this cake exactly as written the first time. The cake turns out really dense, which I normally like. However, it was a very wet cake. So, I tried several things to lighten it up and it turned out better. I used sugar-free pudding mix and diet lemon-lime soda. I reduced the oil 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of sugarless applesauce. It turned out great! This would make a pretty cake to have at Easter as it is very pale green. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Awsome recipe! This cake is so good. The whole thing went in a flash. Today I'm going to make a chocolate version using rootbeer or cherry soda. The only thing I changed was instead of the 2 envelopes of whipped topping mix I used whipped cream. I will be making this often. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This was very good, very moist, and very easy. I made it to take to my son's girlfriends house and everyone liked it. I did use cool whip with the pudding mixed in for the topping instead of dream whip. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Very tasty, coarse textured. Would use half the topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doughgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
my family loves this cake. i have been cooking it for years now! the only thing that i have changed is the frosting. i don't add milk. it makes it too "runny". i use two tubs of whipped topping and two packs of pistachio pudding mix and blend with my mixer really well to make it less "gritty". LOVE THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waveland, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe is a favorite of mine for many years. I bake it in a bundt pan, then split into 3 "layers" putting the frosting between each layer. Because there is no frosting for the top of the cake, I dust it lightly with powdered sugar. It's a fun cake to make for St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I've made this cake for years!! It was originally called "Watergate Cake" along with "Watergate Salad" also made with pistachio pudding--remember - they called it that because it was filled with NUTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States