Pisco Sour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Living in Chile a few years, I feel qualified to say that you should definitely swap out the white sugar for powdered (confectioner's) sugar. It makes the mix much smoother. Another option that I prefer is to mix the pisco and lemon first, then add powdered sugar to taste. My husband likes a stronger pisco taste, while I like a bit more sugar. Excellent substitute for wine before dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I'm Chilean, too. Of course, I'm biased and find Pisco sour much better than Tequila. However, I do not agree with those that recommend confectioner sugar to regular sugar. Would you suggest the same for a Margarita? Pisco sour is traditionally served like a Margarita with the ring of sugar on the rim. Regarding the eggs white issue . . . This is a drink that has been used to celebrate the Holidays in Chile, especially Independence Day for at least 3 centuries and the egg whites have not been an issue. People might get sick of alcohol intoxication but not egg white in the mix. I have not tried the Peruvian version. Perhaps, the Peruvian version uses too many egg whites in the mix. When prepared well, you don't even know that the egg whites are there. I am diabetic so I prepare mine separately by substituting the sugar in the mix for Equal (Aspartame) or Nutrasweet (same as Equal). Other sugar substitutes are horrible so the only ones that do it for me are the above-mentioned. However, I do keep the ring of sugar and slice of lemon on the rim. When you prepare it, just follow the recipe and do not use more than one egg white. You'll love it but drink in moderation because you can get quite drunk with 2 or more glasses of it. Pisco has a high content of alcohol, as much or more than Tequila. If you are in Chile, try "Agua Ardiente" (Scorching Water) which is almost pure alcohol. Again, moderation . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is awesome. Hard to tell if there is even alcohol in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by your mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tukwila, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I'm living in Chile and this is the way they do it! I agree with an earlier review that suggested mixing the powdered sugar and pisco first... but all in all this is a very good recipe! Don't skimp on the Pisco! A good Chilean version of Alto de Carmen or Mistral will make a delicious version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sharra_luke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Sublime attitude adjustment, and not a moment too soon. Perfectly balanced, with a pleasingly bitter finish. Sort of like a David Sedaris essay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Also forgot to mention, for all those people who feel raw eggs are unsafe: just use pasteurised eggs, you'll be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Molina, Lima, Peru
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Used the ENTIRE bottle of pisco to make a pitcher (three batches in the blender). Just as frothy, tart and tangy as my Peruvian friend makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Very yummy, but I am glad I did not know there was an egg white in it before I drank it. It might have given me pause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is a great drink. I would recommend using superfine sugar instead of granulated or confectioner's sugar. No granulated sugar because it will not properly dissolve in the drink and no confectionar's sugar because it is not pure sugar (I think corn starch is in it.) Coat the glass with granulated sugar. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
a peruvian friend served it to me, and the smell of raw eggs as you drink this is so stong, I couldn't handle it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pisco Sour Cocktail

A refreshing cocktail with grape brandy, lime juice, and a little egg white.

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States