Pisang Goreng (Indonesian Banana Fritters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
hi I am indonesian--and pisang goreng is just the best. if you try to bake the bananas in the oven on a baking sheet (425 F) until they're crispy, and use egg substitutes and reduced-calorie margarine (instead of butter), you'll cut down on a lot of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Even with really ripe bananas, it still turned out really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Loved this recipe...I was always craving these. If you like fried bananas from oriental resturants...you'll love these. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Really good!! I didn't have the vanilla powder or rum flavouring, but added cinnamon instead. Everybody loved these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I've made this a few times and it has come out perfectly every time. Try dusting the bananas with powdered sugar for a nice presentation or drizzling with chocolate sauce. I add regular vanilla instead of powdered vanilla and often exclude the butter. If you want it to have a stronger rum taste add a little at the end. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I HAVE BEEN EATING PISANG GORENG MY ENTIRE LIFE, THIS WAS EXCELLENT. MY PARENTS LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SummerRain
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
I'm an Indo girl too, and I LOVE pisang goreng!! DO NOT use banana's that are too ripe, they'll be soggy after you fry them. Adding the rum was something new to me...but it's delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SummerRain

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
My Indonesian boyfriend and I love these! I have made these twice already and they disappeared fast! We used regular bananas, but will try the cooking bananas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMMYGRRL723

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belton, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this tonight and they were really good. I have never had anything like this before. I did not have any vanilla powder so I used amaretto coffee creamer instead. Turned out great! Thanks for your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
These are one of my favourite desserts and I have been looking for a recipe like this. Because bananas are fairly expensive where I am right now I made a half batch, then having enjoyed them so much, made another one. I pan fried them instead of deep frying and didn't add any rum cause I don't have any. To substitute I spiced them with nutmeg and cinnamon instead which is beautiful as a dessert, especially with vanilla ice-cream or maple syrup. For the second batch I added a little coarse ground pepper to the mix, which I know sounds strange but it tastes great and adds the perfect counterpoint to the sweetness of the dish. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States