Pisang Goreng (Indonesian Banana Fritters) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I made these for a potluck dinner with an Asian themed. They were eaten in a matter of minutes. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This is really good. Reminds me of home. You can also use cooking bananas (plaintain). Let them ripe first for 1 or 2 more weeks, until their skins turned black. By then, the taste will be sweet and the meat will be firm, not mushy like the regular banana. Yumm....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magie
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Well..I've tried it but nothing fanciable about this one. Just ordinary. The Pisang Goreng stalls can be found everyday (day and night!) throughout Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia...and I think there are more better recipes out there to be tested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
These are one of my favourite desserts and I have been looking for a recipe like this. Because bananas are fairly expensive where I am right now I made a half batch, then having enjoyed them so much, made another one. I pan fried them instead of deep frying and didn't add any rum cause I don't have any. To substitute I spiced them with nutmeg and cinnamon instead which is beautiful as a dessert, especially with vanilla ice-cream or maple syrup. For the second batch I added a little coarse ground pepper to the mix, which I know sounds strange but it tastes great and adds the perfect counterpoint to the sweetness of the dish. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Very good dessert that's not too sweet. I didn't deep fry mine because I don't care for deep fried food. They are great plain old pan-fried! I even got a few picky friends to munch on them. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
These were good-a litle plain and bland but we sprinkled powdered sugar on them and that made them better.A good recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiedog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I made this tonight and they were really good. I have never had anything like this before. I did not have any vanilla powder so I used amaretto coffee creamer instead. Turned out great! Thanks for your recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Even with really ripe bananas, it still turned out really good. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Really good!! I didn't have the vanilla powder or rum flavouring, but added cinnamon instead. Everybody loved these! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I made these just to try something different. They were pretty good, although we could barely taste the rum flavoring. Also, if I were to make them again, I would use bananas that weren't quite so ripe - the fritters were a little too mushy for my liking. Thanks, Unieng!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Mom's Apple Fritters

See how to make warm, crisp apple fritters from scratch.

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States