Pirate Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I was not crazy about this stew. I felt like I wasted food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Seeing as the recipe didn't specify what type of rum to use, I used Appleton Estate. And as such, I found a spiced rum a little too strong of a taste when you use 3 tbsp worth. In the future, I'd probably cut it to two tbsp of spiced rum or substitute White Rum into the mix. Overall though, it was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Enjoyed this stew but made a few "minor" additions. Added 1 tsp. of diced, dried ginger root to the liquid and a sprinkling of ancho chile powder (to add a dash of "sweet" heat) once dished up. Will consider adding the ancho pepper to the recipe while it is cooking for a better infusion of flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffi0118

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was great ! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Ahoy matey - wonderful change from tradition beef stew. We tried with pork and was just as good as the beef. Always in demand at our house. We dress like pirates and can only speak in pirate lingo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Sorry, I didn't like it. Just kind of blah. I did omit the sugar as per other reviewers. My company ate it and complimented me but they maybe they were just being polite. Vegetable Beef Stew by Ruth Rodriguez is way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I'll make this again. We didn't find it too sweet and it's a nice variation for stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nakina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Constable, New York, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My family said this recipe was a 'keeper'...the best stew they had ever had...and I was amazed that my son ate parsnips and turnips and said they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States