Pirate Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
We decided to try this stew based on its name alone. My boys are quite into pirates. After reading Tristan's mom's review, I used a very loosely packed 1/4 cup of brown sugar, but otherwise followed the directions. Instead of chopping the veggies (I thought it would never hold up in a stew), I cut them into chunks. My four year old had two helpings of the stew (and this is a kid who would never eat a parsnip or a turnip if he had a choice), as did my husband and myself. My 2 year old said it was too spicy for him. We didn't find this to be too sweet at all...a nice flavor, with a teeny kick to it. We will probably make it again at some point, but I might increase the sweet potatoes and decrease the parsnip/turnip pairing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is VERY VERY VERY sweet. The sauce tasted like something you'd put over a dessert, not stew meat. It's a great idea and could possibly be redone to be edible, but not in this incarnation. I did get cute pictures of my son eating it in a pirate hat, but even he only ate one bite. Thank God the ingredients were cheap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Ahoy matey - wonderful change from tradition beef stew. We tried with pork and was just as good as the beef. Always in demand at our house. We dress like pirates and can only speak in pirate lingo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Sorry, I didn't like it. Just kind of blah. I did omit the sugar as per other reviewers. My company ate it and complimented me but they maybe they were just being polite. Vegetable Beef Stew by Ruth Rodriguez is way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: High Level, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
My family said this recipe was a 'keeper'...the best stew they had ever had...and I was amazed that my son ate parsnips and turnips and said they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I was not crazy about this stew. I felt like I wasted food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Seeing as the recipe didn't specify what type of rum to use, I used Appleton Estate. And as such, I found a spiced rum a little too strong of a taste when you use 3 tbsp worth. In the future, I'd probably cut it to two tbsp of spiced rum or substitute White Rum into the mix. Overall though, it was a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Enjoyed this stew but made a few "minor" additions. Added 1 tsp. of diced, dried ginger root to the liquid and a sprinkling of ancho chile powder (to add a dash of "sweet" heat) once dished up. Will consider adding the ancho pepper to the recipe while it is cooking for a better infusion of flavouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steffi0118

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States