Pioneer Potato Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2000
An old boyfriend's mother use to make potato candy. I loved it, she gave me the recipe years ago but had lost it. This is almost identical. Thanks. Everyone at work loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I am a professional chef, and I must say that I have not tasted anything as terrible as this candy. I have used other potato candy recipes in the past with great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2004
For years,we have been enjoying this candy but we call this candy "Fried Oysters". My mother-in-law is getting up in years and decided that this Christmas she wouldn't be making her candy. I questioned her about how to make it and then checked with "all recipes.com" to compare. Its the same ingredients and is just as good if not better than what we've had for years. I've made this twice this Christmas. The second time I used my mixer to blend in the powdered sugar. It saved time & energy. After it was mixed, I put in the frig for 2 hours. Next, I used my small cookie scoop for even amounts and rolled into balls. I put these back into the frig so they would firm up. This made dipping much easier. I used 1 1/2 lb. of dipping chocolate, 22 oz. Spanish peanuts (chopped fine in my food processor). Makes approximately 5 1/2 dozen. Note: Don't salt the water when boiling the potatoes or your candy will be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Thank you SO much for this recipe. I have been making ths candy from the time I've been on my own. Originally I used my mother's recipe, but over the years (she passed away when I was 7 years old, in 1956), the handwritten recipe has gotten sort of "messed up". This one is just the same...DELICIOUS!!! Every time I make this I am suddenly thinking I've done something wrong, when first adding the powdered sugar, it truly liquifies, but turns into a very special treat. Thanks again for this one. I can't imagine why one of the reviewers didn't like it???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I had never heard of potato candy. This recipe came up when I was looking for a potato salad recipe and since it was close to christmas I decided to try it. I am glad I did. It was so good. I have no idea why another reviewer said it wasn't good. Mine came out perfect. I followed the recipe for the dough exactly the way it is printed. It does liquify at first but by the end of adding all the sugar it is a nice dough. One suggestions would be to microwave or bake the potato instead of boiling them. It keeps the potato drier so you don't have to add extra sugar. Also I started with 8 oz of chocolate and figured if I need more I could add it as I went, but that was enough for me. I rolled them into balls and dunked the bottom half in chocolate. It was easier and less messy that way. Then I rolled them in crushed peanuts, mini chips, coconut, and crushed pepperment. Then I set them white side down on wax paper. The toppings you can use is endless. We liked the peanuts the best. Also instead of using vanilla you could add any flavor of extract you like or some rum or brandy. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I too have used BAKED potatoes, peeled and mashed. Is it possible that the author made a mistake by not being specific about the potatoes? The word "cooked" leaves room for various interpretations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Well, I should have expected these would be sweet, and they were :( ... but not willing to waste any ingredients on this experiment, the girls and I added several different things to salvage into a very addictive confection. Here's the list... 1/2 cup more potato. At least 2/3 cup cocoa (the "dark" Hershey cocoa was phenomenal in this). 1 tsp. instant coffee granules, undissolved; and per another recipe, an extra 1/2 tsp. salt. Then we added flaked and chopped sweetened coconut to taste, right into the bowl. We did not dip, but immediately rolled in coconut or cocoa. The pioneers would not recognize this, but we liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
instead of putting the candy in a pan I cool it and then roll it into 1 inch balls they are so easy that my 6 year old granddaughter can help. I also get lots of request at Christmas time for this candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Fleming
Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These are way too sweet, like eating a mouthful of dried up frosting dipped in chocolate, (and I love anything sweet)! It was a fun recipe to try though, just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
An easier version I read about is to spread the mixture in a buttered foil lined 9-in. square pan with foil. Cover and refrigerate overnight. Cut into 2-in. x 1-in. rectangles. Cover and freeze. Then dip the frozen candy into the chocolate - sounds much easier to work with. I'm looking forward to trying this candy. In a microwave or double boiler, melt candy coating. Dip bars in coating; place on waxed paper to harden. Store in an airtight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAGELCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States