Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Pretty basic recipe. A little like homemade noodles. I made the dumplings, cooked them in broth, then drained and fried in a little butter and seasoning salt. Then I added them to the soup. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I have been making these for years. My mother showed me how when i was young. This is the "comfort food" at my house. I triple the batch and use it in chicken/turkey soup and have enough for 4 or 5 dinners (3 of us) and my daughter comes and snatches some for her dinners too. they are so fast and easy. Thank you for posting this!!! With Thanksgiving coming, i will make "leftover turkey noodle soup"!!! AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
The name drew me in and it did not disappoint. This is going to be my "go to" recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
These were perfect. I added parsley to the dough before rolling it out. I love heavy dumplings and these delivered...tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Really great! They are dense and filling and versatile. I made a chicken stew on the fly and added these to it and they really made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These dumplings were awesome! I put some spices in the dough: curry powder, ground cumin, and ground coriander seed. I cooked them in a soup that used one can of condensed cream of mushroom soup (and instead of water to dilute the soup, I used chicken broth) and about a 1/3 cup of milk. I changed the recipe to only make four servings. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Great recipe for Dumplings. I rolled the dough out thin and cut into small rectangles. I followed the advice of another reviewer and let them sit out for about 4-5 hours before cooking. They plumped up to the perfect size and were not gooy at all. (I used these to make Chicken and Dumplings in a slow cooker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These are very very good dumplings and very easy to make. The only changes I made was adding a little more (maybe a tablespoon) liquid and if you are making dumplings - not pasta- drop them in right after cutting them and they will be tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane  Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
These came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
for such a simple recipe these dumplings were a hit the whole family loved them I am going to take the reciepe when I go moose hunting with the boys next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States