Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
These were perfect. I added parsley to the dough before rolling it out. I love heavy dumplings and these delivered...tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mulberry, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Really great! They are dense and filling and versatile. I made a chicken stew on the fly and added these to it and they really made it great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
These dumplings were awesome! I put some spices in the dough: curry powder, ground cumin, and ground coriander seed. I cooked them in a soup that used one can of condensed cream of mushroom soup (and instead of water to dilute the soup, I used chicken broth) and about a 1/3 cup of milk. I changed the recipe to only make four servings. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Great recipe for Dumplings. I rolled the dough out thin and cut into small rectangles. I followed the advice of another reviewer and let them sit out for about 4-5 hours before cooking. They plumped up to the perfect size and were not gooy at all. (I used these to make Chicken and Dumplings in a slow cooker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
These are very very good dumplings and very easy to make. The only changes I made was adding a little more (maybe a tablespoon) liquid and if you are making dumplings - not pasta- drop them in right after cutting them and they will be tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Lucas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
These came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New York, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
for such a simple recipe these dumplings were a hit the whole family loved them I am going to take the reciepe when I go moose hunting with the boys next year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These are the same dumplings I grew up on at Baptist potluck dinners. It was a total taste from my childhood. I've tried a ton of different dumpling recipes and could never get just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Jeff really liked these. Much better than Emeril's cake like drop dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I thought these dumplings were just okay. I was actually looking for an alternative for my usual dumplings made with baking powder because I was all out of it. I tried this instead, but they were a bit to dense and chewy for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins444

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States