Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is definitely my favorite recipe that I've referred all my friends to use this recipe. It's a snap to put together; so easy to adjust to your liking be it drops, squares, thick or thin and long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djhens70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I never liked the taste of dumplings until I tried this recipe oh my lord it was delious WOW. Thanks for this marvelous recipe it's going in my family folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
This was great!! I'm from Ohio, and my grandmother made dumplings, but never wrote down a recipe. This is it!! Perfect. The first time I made them I forgot to dry them, but they turned out great anyway! Wonderful, and great reheated, even after being frozen. A great meal extender, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Just made them. Loved the addition of black pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
THE BEST way to make dumplings. I was looking for one like Grandma would make and I found it. I read some other reviews and those that said it was lacking here or there have it all wrong. It is perfect the way it is. I love to cook OLD FASHION STYLE and do all my cooking from scratch and homemade, and this is as good as it gets with down home goodness. I even used fresh from the farm milk in this recipe. Not the milk you buy at your local grocers. I can NOT recommend this recipe HIGH enough 5 stars are too few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I grew up eating fluffy drop dumplings while my hubby grew up with the flat rolled out kind. I have tried many times to mimick my mominlaws dumpling with no success, until today! And in fact, my 8 yr old says she likes mine better than granny's! I can't ask for more than that can I?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Awesome recipe!! I too cut the recipe in half. Now I wish I wouldnt have. I had a ham bone left over from my Christmas dinner. I made a great bean soup with it added carrots, onion, celery, and pintos to the broth. I then boiled the dumplings for about 8-10 minutes in the soup. My pickiest son ate two helpings. I remember my mom making these with her fried cabbage and onions as a child. Yummy memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanley Froomkin
Home Town: Girard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These are good.. more like noodles as opposed to my normal dumpling recipe. I picked this recipe due to the fact there is no fat in it. I changed it to 2 egg whites instead of a whole egg and added a bit of baking powder. I rolled them super then. The kids still enjoyed them.. I will use again for my chicken noodle soup... not my chicken and dumplings:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocknbutterfly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I had most of a whole roast chicken left over from the night before, so I decided to make chicken and dumplings like grandma used to make. I added the deboned chicked to the stock pot along with some chopped onion and celery. I added some salt and pepper, ssge and marjoram for seasoning and let the stock simmer. When the time came to make the dumplins, I went to the pantry to get the flour only to discover that I was totally out of all purpose flour! I did have nealry 15 pounds of bread flour though. I decided to use the bread flour anyway. The whole time I was thinking to myself this is NOT going to work. I mixed up the dough and kneaded it for a few minutes and then rolled it out to about 1/8 inch thick and cut into dumplings. It was hard work getting that tough dough rolled out! My bread flour dumplings took quite a bit longer than usual to cook and become tender, but to my surprise they turned out just fine! Very much like I remember my grandmothers dumplings being. Sometimes a goof just works out. Next time I think I'll try them with all purpose flour just to see though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Lea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Great dumpling recipe. Next time think I will leave the egg out and make the dumplings thinner. This recipe is as close to Mom's recipe as possible.Mom cooked without recipes.It took a long time to figure out pie crusts. Great home style dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States