Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Did not like this type of dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesli Marshall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I have been making these for the last 4 years. They turn out perfect every time! I have never let them dry out. I get the broth started and then start making the dumplings. The broth is usually boiling and waiting for the dumplings to be added. I actually have some cooking right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanyshab26
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
It was good and easy. The kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I have made these several times. I did not have all purpose flour on one occasion I only had self rising, it works with the recipe, just a bit more difficult to get smooth dough for cutting, so make sure that all purpose flour is used for easier blending into dough. If you would like a more flavorful dumpling ( although recipe as written is wonderful and now the go to recipe I use for dumpling) add the following to the flour 2 teaspoons of oregano, 2 teaspoons of seasoned salt (omit regular salt) 2 teaspoons of tyme, 2 teaspoons of tyme, and 2 teaspoons of Rosemary leaves. This makes for a tasty version of the dumplings, although I love the as written recipe too, just like to add a twist from time to time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
For a first time noodle/dumpling maker, these came out better than I thought they would. I was a little apprehensive when mixing the dough because it was very sticky and I was tempted to add more flour, but didn't assuming that it would pick up enough during the kneading and rolling out process. I've never been good with rolling out doughs, so that was a little challenging.I was looking for a noodle like Mrs. Reames; dense but tender. These came out better!They had that nice "Al Dente" texture while still being light to eat. I used half of the dough in a Chicken and Dumpling dish the first night, cutting them into noodles and letting them dry for a couple of hours. With the remaining dough, I rolled it out into thin sheets and planned on making filled pasta with it the next day until I got a cabbage and onion inspiration. I caramelized a large sweet onion, with a half of a head of cabbage and some small-diced ham. The sheets I cut into squares and simmered them untill they were almost done and then drained them and mixed them into the cabbage mix with butter, pepper and a splash of chicken broth. Rolling them out thin gives them a silkier texture while still retaining the firmness. Both preparations got rave reviews from me and my husband. Now all I have to do is work on my mixing and rolling skills, but I will be making these often enough that I should be a pro at it in no time!In fact, I'm making another batch today that I think I'll freeze. Great recipe, Barb, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Too tough! Tasted OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bigfs
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Easy and quick! Just a few simple ingredients needed that most people have on hand. Nice and tender dumpling ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This is my first time making noodles. The recipe is very easy to work with and to roll out. I followed the recipe as is. I divided the dough into four sections. The first batch I rolled out very thin. The last batch I rolled out to a quarter inch thickness. That one was my favorite. Thick enough that the noodles did not fall apart. So on that note I am off to make my second batch for dinner tomorrow. I didn't let the noodles dry like the recipe said to. But the noodles came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I have made these for years just the way my mother made them when I was little, the only difference is the name. Mom was Pennsylvania Dutch and these were called Bott Boi (buys) as it was pronounced) or slippery noodles. I add dried parsley in with the flour and use some of the chicken broth to make the noodles. I give these a 5 rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This is how I learned to make Chicken Pot pie. We cut it in squares and dropped it in chicken and broth with sliced potatoes. Is a classic. So great on a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spotedlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronston, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States