Pioneer Cut Dumplings from the 1800's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These are exactly like the noodles my Mother used to make for her soups it brought me back to my younger years living at home on the farm. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovesitspicy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I usually buy Remes dumplings but hate buying things that I can make myself. This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
We love these, perfect fat thick noodle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I had been looking all over for a dumpling recipe that wasn't a biscuit type dropped in. Thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huffman, Texas, USA
Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was looking for a dense dumpling recipe and while these were dense, they tasted very doughy to me like it had too much flour or maybe I did not roll it right. I made the dumplings, not the noodles. I boiled them in chicken broth for about 10 minutes. They all floated to the top and looked great, but like I said, tasted 'floury'. I followed the recipe exactly, but I did take the advice of one reviewer and placed the dumplings in boiling water right after cutting. Maybe I should have let the dumplings dry too. Not sure. Had I made the noodles, I would have let those dry as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
Made exactly like stated in my cuisenart food processor with dough attachment, cuts the work then rolled out like a dream-LOVE THESE, our new staple for soup, chili, and stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is as close a recipe as I could find (I've searched quite a bit) for the deliciously chewy drop dumplings my mother used to make for her chicken stew. I did experiment with folding different things into separated portions. (e.g. cheese, onion, parsley) with mixed results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Good, simple recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
These remind me of the rolled dumplings my grandmother made. I'm glad I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
So simple ( and good )...love it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States