Pinwheel Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I broke from the recipe and used baby Portabello mushrooms and shallots instead of the onions for the filling with the spinach. I really liked the flavor, but I think it would be better mixing half shallots with half white onions for the filling. I also added garlic while browning the meat. My girlfriend said it was the best, better then the first time I made it following the recipe. I really like making thins dish. It is easy to do. I used wax paper to spread and roll the meat log. It makes it really easy to add it to the baking dish. I didn't have a bread pan available so I used a pyrex dish. I think this allows the grease to flow out. It's on the money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is such a good recipe - truly gourmet meatloaf! Unfortunately, my husband doesn't like it, so I only prepare it occasionally. My only change is to bake it in a pyrex dish, not the loaf pan. It takes too long to cook in the loaf pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
this was awesome. i added garlic powder to the meat as well as the spinach mixture. i also didnt have cheddar cheese so used a pre-shredded pizza mix - which made me nervous but like i said - AWESOME. oh yeah - i added a bit of basil to as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipie was fantastic. A friend had picked this recipie for our weekend horse get away. She put baby carrots on the botton so the meat roll could sit on them and red potatoes along side. Very easy to make and full of flavor that will be a crowd pleaser. We will make this again for ourselves and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
We really enjoyed this! Traditional meatloaf is always a favorite, but this was fun to make and tasty for something a little different...pretty too! Other than adding garlic to the mushrooms and onions (I HAVE to!) I made this as written and was very pleased. Another great comfort food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Sorry, didn't care for this at all. Meat was way to bland, stuffing was alright. I hate to give a so-so rating but My tastes didn't agree with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Use Ground Turkey instead of beef and pork!!! Fabulous and lower in fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey Johns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
I tried this recipe last night. It was great. I used sage as I didn't have parsley but it added a really nice flavour. For the pork, I just used the filling from a pack of pork sausages. I didn't attempt to roll it as I was in a hurry but I layered the meat and filling and it worked very well. Was delicious and I will definitely use it again. Can't wait to have the leftovers for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen C.
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Very good! I did add extra mushrooms and spinach (also threw in some garlic), but everything turned out great. The filling is fantastic. I can't say that enough. The filling is going to be used with other recipes. I honestly considered just eating the filling. The meatloaf turned out better than any homemade meatloaf I've ever had. The only modifications I made were the extra mushrooms and onions, garlic, and I used parmesan bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
We loved this recipe, the meat loaf held together nicely and all the flavors from the cheese, spinach,and mushrooms made for a sort of fancy out of the ordinary meat loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States