Pinwheel Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was a yummy way to incorporate spinach into a meat loaf, just what I was looking for. I also added garlic and more worchestershire sauce. I only used ground beef because that was all I had on hand. I also used fresh spinach. But to my dismay the cute pinwheel roll I put into the oven crumpled. It was a terrible sight on my serving platter. Just a big mess. Luckly it was just served to my family. The flavor was great I will try this recipie again, but next time I think I will just mix everything into one loaf, no fancy stuff. Maybe run the cheddar cheese through the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
Yummy! We loved this recipe! I didn't have pork and only used lean ground beef. I am a type 2 diabetic and am always trying to lessen the carbs in recipes, so I substituted bulgur wheat for the bread crumbs. Also layered some cheese on top of the spinich mixture! Left the parsley out, not a big fan of it. We really enjoyed it! Made a simple gravy using soy flour to go on top! Thanks for an inventive twist on a classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Oslo, Oslo, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
excellent alternative to the usual bland stuff. tastes even better the next day, hot or cold. attractive presentation as well. well worth your time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
LOVED this meatloaf....very attractive and tasted great. Even my kids liked it! I added a little garlic to the meat mixture.....wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
This recipe was fantastic! I changed it up a little because I didn't have some of the ingredients and it turned out great! I added Italian flavored breakfast sausage instead of the pork, I left out the worshteshire, and I substituted 1/2 cup of seasoned, grated parmesean for the chedder. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
I submitted this a few years ago. I just want to say...ADD GARLIC to the ingredients. I always do and just missed including it when it was originally submitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I really enjoyed this meatloaf. I used a 1/2 of an onion soup packet in the meat mixture and left out the salt. I also added more worcestershire sauce (about 1 tbls) and I added a little ketchup (about 1/4 cup). I did not add an egg to the spinach and mushrooms because I only had 1 egg and I put that egg in the meat, I doubt that it even made a difference the end result still held together just fine. As noted by a previous review this does work well cooked on sheet pan so it does not swim in greece. I also added kethcup and worcestershire to the top of the loaf and that kept the top from drying out. Tasty and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I LOVED this recipe. I sauted a clove of garlic with the onion/mushroom mixture. Didn't have ground pork so used all ground beef. I cooked mine in a stoneware baker with a lid and added cut up red potatoes around the sides of the loaf with a about 1/4 cup of wine. Everyone loved it. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
We loved this recipe, the meat loaf held together nicely and all the flavors from the cheese, spinach,and mushrooms made for a sort of fancy out of the ordinary meat loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Braised Mushroom Meatloaf

See how to make meatloaf braised in a creamy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States