Pinwheel Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
We really enjoyed this! Traditional meatloaf is always a favorite, but this was fun to make and tasty for something a little different...pretty too! Other than adding garlic to the mushrooms and onions (I HAVE to!) I made this as written and was very pleased. Another great comfort food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I used fresh baby spinach. Added more onions. My guess the previous reviewers meatloaf fell apart, is that the instructions need to say that you should let the meatloaf rest about 10 minutes before slicing. Also I baked it on a baking sheet. In a loaf pan I think the meat just sits in the fat while cooking. A definate keeper. Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Pretty good base recipe. I tweaked it a bit...took out the mushrooms and rolled with ham and cheese as well as the spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
This was a yummy way to incorporate spinach into a meat loaf, just what I was looking for. I also added garlic and more worchestershire sauce. I only used ground beef because that was all I had on hand. I also used fresh spinach. But to my dismay the cute pinwheel roll I put into the oven crumpled. It was a terrible sight on my serving platter. Just a big mess. Luckly it was just served to my family. The flavor was great I will try this recipie again, but next time I think I will just mix everything into one loaf, no fancy stuff. Maybe run the cheddar cheese through the center.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
This was really good! I added some garlic (of course!) and extra Worcestershire sauce to the meat, as well as some Parmesan cheese. On top I made a mixture of 1/4 C. Worcestershire sauce, 1/8 C. Honey, and 2 Tbsp prepared mustard. I put half on top to cook, which kept everything moist, and served the other half with dinner in case people wanted extra... which they did. YAY! Another dinner success. :) Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
This was a good tasting recipe, but needed garlic in my opinion, but I'm a garlic lover. Cut the spinach up really small or it makes the loaf hard to cut. Cover the loaf for the first 45 minutes, or it will dry and be hard on the outside. Better with some gravy too. Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipie was fantastic. A friend had picked this recipie for our weekend horse get away. She put baby carrots on the botton so the meat roll could sit on them and red potatoes along side. Very easy to make and full of flavor that will be a crowd pleaser. We will make this again for ourselves and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudine "Chancy" H.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Cat Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Use Ground Turkey instead of beef and pork!!! Fabulous and lower in fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Pinwheel Meatloaf Haiku: "Pinwheel rolled in yum! A fun way to make meatloaf! Looks pretty, tastes great!" This was the 4th time that I've made this recipe and each time, it gets better and better. I liked it a lot the 1st time when I followed the recipe exactly, and just as much w/ my small changes. I use fresh spinach, as well as sauteeing bell pepper and garlic along w/ the onion. I also haven't seen the need for egg and bread crumbs in the spinach mixture, so I skip that all-together. We've decided that we prefer the cheese sprinkled on top of the spinach mixture, rather than blended into the meats, for gooey, melty goodness. I've had the meatloaf "split" while baking and haven't determined how to avoid that (maybe I'm stuffing it w/ too much spinach and mushroom?) Regardless of how it ends up looking, it always disappears from the dinner table fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
this was awesome. i added garlic powder to the meat as well as the spinach mixture. i also didnt have cheddar cheese so used a pre-shredded pizza mix - which made me nervous but like i said - AWESOME. oh yeah - i added a bit of basil to as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palmyra, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States