Pinwheel Italian Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Excellent dinner!!! Very yummy, I used it for a dinner and the family loved it. Instead of cutting the roll 4 times, I cut it 3. That made a little larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
We loved this. I made them for my daughter’s first birthday party and the whole family raved. I mixed all the cheeses and then only added a little onion and diced pepperoni to it. I also made them large by fusing all the dough together and then rolling it up and cutting it into 8 or 9 pieces. Seriously delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I used the basic idea here and made mine with spinach instead of pepperoni. But they were delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I served these for a baby shower and then again for 4th of July. What a hit! Everyone loves the yummy flavors. It's so easy to substitute ingredients as well. You can add olives or take out mushrooms...whatever your preference! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Everyone loved these. We followed the recipe with the exception that we each put our own 'topping' choices in the calzones. They didn't last very long. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I agree that doubling the dough is necessary. Also, I sliced 1/2 of them into the "pinwheels" and then didn't slice the other half. The pinwheels leaked out a lot of the filling, whereas the uncut ones didn't. Delicious both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These little guys are a lot of fun and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NorCalRN
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
These were a hit! This was a great, easy way to incorporate the flavors of pizza into a healthy diet- I used fat free cottage cheese, reduced fat mozzarella and crescent dough, and left out most of the veggies. I used pizza seasoning instead of italian, and rather than only use the sauce for dipping- I put about 2 heaping spoonfuls of sauce into the cheese filling mixture. These turned out fantastic!! Will make many more times- Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
Love these! I've made these a couple of times already & my family loves these. My hubby wants these as a meal all the time & even helped me assemble this. The cresent dough does make this a little rich, I'm going to try w/ refridgerated pizza dough next. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
This is a great quick snack - or serve with a salad and make a meal of it. I meant to use 2 tubes of cresent roll dough, but discovered I only had 1, so I just jammed all the filling on the 4 rectangles. It worked fine. The only deviation I made from the recipe is that I baked them before cutting up and increased the baking time about 7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BURGUNDY2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States